Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Gaming Zone
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2005, 12:24 AM   #1
xoopx
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 493
Default

hows that for a 'magic trick'?

http://www.theprodukkt.com/kkrieger.html
xoopx is offline                         Send a private message to xoopx
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:38 AM   #2
Xinithaous
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 56
Default

O i read abt this how dos it work?
Xinithaous is offline                         Send a private message to Xinithaous
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 03:05 AM   #3
Microprose Veteran
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 52
Default

Weeeellll... Commodore 64 was just 64 K...
Microprose Veteran is offline                         Send a private message to Microprose Veteran
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 08:42 AM   #4
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Yess, and I didn't see commodore display graphics that todays games take gigabytes, and gigabytes of space...
It really is weird...
__________________
[14-12, 16:08] TotalAnarchy: but the greatest crime porn has done is the fact that it's all fake and emotionless, that's why I prefer anime hentai frankly
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 10:14 AM   #5
kOS
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 158
Default

if this is it, i played in this game few months ago. nice graphics, but needs time to compile the whole thing.
kOS is offline                         Send a private message to kOS
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 11:00 AM   #6
Reup
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Reup's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 1,508
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tulac@Jun 1 2005, 09:42 AM
Yess, and I didn't see commodore display graphics that todays games take gigabytes, and gigabytes of space...
It really is weird...
It's 'easy'. All textures are procedural, which mean they can be expressed in a couple of formula's. The lighting and shading is done at real time etc. This means that the game takes a long time to start up and dumps a load of calculated textures in memory!

You should see what some people do with only 4k (linky) k:

The game is pretty neat though k:
Reup is offline                         Send a private message to Reup
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:11 PM   #7
Quintopotere
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Quintopotere's Avatar



 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Turin, Italy
Posts: 1,043
Default

I think that this is a demonstration of how lazy are the programmers of commercial games!

And the problem is not only about the giga-dimension of new games, it's usual for them doing games without taking care about the programmation aspect: and we have to buy ninja-PC with triple-SLI-video-configuration...

using a combination of pre-made textures and procedural ones, and other things like this, probably Doom3 could run even on my Athlon 850... (maybe i'm exaggerating :whistle: )
__________________
Quintopotere is offline                         Send a private message to Quintopotere
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:11 PM   #8
UnHoly
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 169
Default

I read about it in polish game magazine, it looks very nice on the screens, but I haven't downloaded it yet. It's to big for me. It will take about six, seven seconds to download it. I haven't got so much time :bleh:

Quote:
using a combination of pre-made textures and procedural ones, and other things like this, probably Doom3 could run even on my Athlon 850... (maybe i'm exaggerating* )
And it would fit on a floppy disk
UnHoly is offline                         Send a private message to UnHoly
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:25 PM   #9
HeXeH
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 6
Default

Are talking about .Kkrieger? Yeah, I saw that one a while back. Takes a hell of a compy to run it though, which is probably one of the reasons why not many game designers have thought of using that level of compression...
__________________
"The point is, ladies and gentlemen that greed, for lack of a better word, is good. Greed is right. Greed works."

-Gordon Gekko
HeXeH is offline                         Send a private message to HeXeH
Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2005, 12:58 PM   #10
efthimios
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 957
Default

I tried a version of it a year or so ago but it didn't work. What did work though were demos of 4-5k. With some very good ideas, music and graphics. Simply wonderful to look at. There was this one where a guy was walking and there was disco like music and colours, these guys are great! They remind me of the old demo scene for the ST and Amiga. Cool guys.
k:
efthimios is offline                         Send a private message to efthimios
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke Nukem 3D - Atomic Edition [GoG] The_Alex Invalid Requests 4 14-09-2008 11:12 AM
3-dish Airplane Shooter KnightAttack Cold Cases 26 20-08-2008 01:23 PM
old 1st person shooter in space suit ashbygeek Cold Cases 6 05-04-2008 03:28 PM
3d Shooter The Wolf Gaming Zone 29 15-01-2005 10:25 PM
The smallest first person shooter in the world FreeFreddy Blah, blah, blah... 19 06-07-2004 10:26 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:54 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.