Go Back   Forums > Updates Workflow > Offers
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-09-2011, 05:38 AM   #1
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default Songbird's Offers

The game I'm offering is the sequel to Whale's Voyage... which would be Whale's Voyage 2. It is not the DOS version, rather the Windows version. I have taken care of the language issue and it is presented to the community IN ENGLISH

I've one problem I need help with fixing: There is the issue of a repeating pop-up that keeps telling the player that it cannot read the CD (even with the CD in the PC). The problem also occurs if the CD is ripped to ISO format and mounted with Daemon Tools.

I need a pro out there to create a work-around for this problem. I'm running XP and even in compatibility mode the problem exists.

Anyone? If someone wants a challenge, I'll upload the game to a host, then it would become a joint offering to Abandonia Community

Anyone?
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 06:54 PM   #2
Professor Oak
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Professor Oak's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Now Only:$349.95, Japan
Posts: 939
Default

The first thing I can think of is recommending you try to make the image in the BIN/CUE format and see if that fixes things.
Professor Oak is offline                         Send a private message to Professor Oak
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 03:22 AM   #3
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default

Will do. I'm itchin' to play this thing without being pestered by the pop-up. Will let you know if it works.

Well, tried the BIN/CUE approach with no luck...

Still the message " Bitte legen Sie die Whale-CD ein!"; which is, "Please insert the whale-cd!"

Next approach?

Last edited by songbird; 28-09-2011 at 03:58 AM.
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 07:16 AM   #4
hunvagy
Thread Necromancer
 
hunvagy's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hajduszoboszlo, Hungary
Posts: 489
Send a message via MSN to hunvagy
Default

Wait, wait.. there's an ENGLISH PC VERSION OF WHALE'S VOYAGE 2????
__________________
Angelus Errare, where angels lose their way
hunvagy is offline                         Send a private message to hunvagy
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 04:06 PM   #5
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default

Yes.

The Amiga community struggled for a long time to translate the game to English. I never really have done the Amiga community, but I never really understood why no-one ever really dug into the Windows version of the game.



Open your CD (or image of) and open the file "WV2WIN". Next, open the folder "text". Inside are a set of files with the extensions .ENG and .GER.

RIP your CD or create folders so you can work with these files on your desktop. Create a folder on your desktop (name it whatever you like) and drag all of the .ENG files to this folder. Rename the .ENG file extensions and make them all .GER. Copy the renamed .GER files to the game folder "text". You are prompted "do you want to replace these folders?" and you say "yes"

This may not change everything in the game to english; I've not played very far into the game due to pop-up prompts every minute-or-two which get to be very annoying. Though what I have played of the game, everything is translated.

It appears NEO had it in mind that they were going to make an english release of the game but never did. The English translation has always been in the game, though few have ever looked.

I've known about this for about 3 years, but never did anything about it. Frankly, help me with the annoying pop-ups; I'd like to play the game!

Last edited by songbird; 28-09-2011 at 10:14 PM.
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 06:50 PM   #6
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,477
Default

Does it work right if you use the original German version you have? Does it only happen after you've swapped the .ENG and .GER files? After you do, are there still any .ENG files, or did you move them out instead of duplicating them?

How many MB does it take? Maybe you should upload it so we can take a look.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 09:37 PM   #7
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default

Both the .ENG and .GER files stay in the "text" file in the game directory. The only change is the actual content of the .GER files.

The CUE/BIN file of the game is 84.1 MB.

I've filezilla and the new ftp site info. I'l upload it under the file name of "WV2". If I'm unsuccessful I'll write here in the forum.

What research I've read explained that some games from the late 1990's looked at the hierarchy of drives for their CD check. I changed my drive letters to reflect where the disk was located so the game could "read" the physical CD and had no luck.

A virtual drive (daemon tools) was not recognized either. I was able to install the game fine from both physical and virtual drives though. Uploading shortly.
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 10:12 PM   #8
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default

BIN/CUE uploaded under folder name "WV2". Inside folder is also a .zip of the original game folder "text".

I'm looking forward to your findings!
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2011, 11:59 PM   #9
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,477
Default

But do you have an image that works without the popups, from the original CD in German? I think we should start from a CD that works, and then figure out if there's a way to patch the text files that doesn't cause the popups.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2011, 02:10 AM   #10
songbird
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Seattle, United States
Posts: 20
Default

I do not have an original CD.

The BIN/CUE was created from files offered from German freeware site(s):

http://www.heise.de/software/downloa...voyage_ii/9644
http://www.vollversion.de/download/w...e_ii_1078.html

and a few others as well. There is a poorly seeded torrent out there that really goes nowhere. I've tried to use the torrent and, well, hours later, nothing.

The point being, what is offered on these freeware sites is a CD rip.

BTW; the game is not sold based on a search that included Amazon.com.
songbird is offline                         Send a private message to songbird
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expack2's Offers Expack2 Offers 61 22-07-2012 10:49 PM
Phazek Offers Lulu_Jane Offers 5 09-01-2011 08:54 PM
Nirhil's Offers. Nirhil Offers 14 29-09-2010 04:15 PM
Songbird's Offerings for Megatraveller 1 & 2 songbird Offers 4 16-09-2009 01:53 PM
Offers! Dave Trash Can 37 08-04-2009 11:13 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:39 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.