Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Community News & Feedback
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2011, 07:50 PM   #1
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,903
Default Site issues (forum posts not showing) firefox

It seems the website has got few issues with the new version that I noticed ever since I updated to it today morning. So far those noticed are:

- When logging in on the main site (http://www.abandonia.com/en/forum) I do seem to be logged in but when I enter the forum there's still the white box with message at the top, for new unregistered visitors. However when I enter the VBulletin version of the forum I am logged in after all. Not a big thing, just that it forces me to use VBulletin forum. Though I do use that one always anyway, others might not (want to).
- After I click on Mark Forums Read at the bottom of the forum, the sub-forums which had new posts / threads when I first entered the forum, stay still marked as not read yet. Same thing happens when I go to a sub-forum, enter the threads with new unread posts, then return to the respective sub-forum or the main forum. It is as if the cookies would not store any changes, though they are activated both as exception for Abandonia and globally.
Re-loading the forum solves the issue, the respective sub-forums become marked as read, so it's also a minor, mainly cosmetical issue.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 08:49 PM   #2
GTX2GvO
The (Web)Space Pirate
 
GTX2GvO's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Schijndel, Netherlands
Posts: 864
Send a message via MSN to GTX2GvO Send a message via Yahoo to GTX2GvO Send a message via Skype™ to GTX2GvO
Default

It's a known "bug" that actually came with Firefox 4.
It's basically that the browser keeps feeding you the cached page rather then to get the actual page.

In order to "fix" this you need to disable http caching.

Go To about:config
(type it where you type in web addresses)

Then search for:
network.http.use-cache

And set it to False.
Now press (ctrl+)F5 or restart your browser and FireFox should be showing you pages AS THEY ARE.
(and not anymore as they were)


Hope this will end the endless repeating of this in the ChatBox.
__________________
Greetings from GTX2GvO.

Member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
GTX2GvO is offline                         Send a private message to GTX2GvO
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:26 AM   #3
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little big small world
Posts: 1,903
Default

That solved the issues, thanks
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 07:35 AM   #4
Paco
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Paco's Avatar



 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 2,988
Send a message via ICQ to Paco Send a message via MSN to Paco Send a message via Yahoo to Paco
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTX2GvO View Post
It's a known "bug" that actually came with Firefox 4.
It's basically that the browser keeps feeding you the cached page rather then to get the actual page.

In order to "fix" this you need to disable http caching.

Go To about:config
(type it where you type in web addresses)

Then search for:
network.http.use-cache

And set it to False.
Now press (ctrl+)F5 or restart your browser and FireFox should be showing you pages AS THEY ARE.
(and not anymore as they were)


Hope this will end the endless repeating of this in the ChatBox.
I TOLD you in CB to made a Thread about it. ^^ Thank again for your help btw. ^^
__________________
Legends will never die.

Check here for Maps i made
Paco is offline                         Send a private message to Paco
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 12:41 PM   #5
Dave
Mandolin & Spaghetti Soldier
 
Dave's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Emilia, Italy
Posts: 8,518
Default

I really recommend it, that problem was quite annoying.
Thanks GTX
__________________
Dave is offline                         Send a private message to Dave
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 10:17 AM   #6
jesters.ice
Forum hobbit
 
jesters.ice's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wegberg, Germany
Posts: 42
Default

Disabling http-caching makes sense, but not for people with low bandwidth like myself (2 MBit), as it takes forever to load any site Does anyone know of another workaround, maybe a possibility to disable http-caching for specific sites?
__________________
watch it, sliiiiimeball! I don't have time to play with you today.
jesters.ice is offline                         Send a private message to jesters.ice
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 10:21 AM   #7
DarthHelmet86
SuperFishMod
 
DarthHelmet86's Avatar




 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,830
Default

Use a newer version of Firefox...they are up to 8 now.
DarthHelmet86 is offline                         Send a private message to DarthHelmet86
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 10:27 AM   #8
jesters.ice
Forum hobbit
 
jesters.ice's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wegberg, Germany
Posts: 42
Default

I'm always using latest release, so that doesn't help. This bug never occured on any other sites / forum systems I visit, only on abandonia, so I somehow doubt it's a Firefox bug..
__________________
watch it, sliiiiimeball! I don't have time to play with you today.
jesters.ice is offline                         Send a private message to jesters.ice
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 10:31 AM   #9
GTX2GvO
The (Web)Space Pirate
 
GTX2GvO's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Schijndel, Netherlands
Posts: 864
Send a message via MSN to GTX2GvO Send a message via Yahoo to GTX2GvO Send a message via Skype™ to GTX2GvO
Default

The bug is actually that the AB forum url (the default /en/forum one) Does NOT contain any "?" or "&" behind any .php links.

Cause that would auto disables the caching of the forum.
__________________
Greetings from GTX2GvO.

Member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
GTX2GvO is offline                         Send a private message to GTX2GvO
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 10:35 AM   #10
jesters.ice
Forum hobbit
 
jesters.ice's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Wegberg, Germany
Posts: 42
Default

It's quite confusing :| I started checking the forums seperately ( abandonia.com/vbullet/ ) because of the caching problem.

Edit: I also tried clearing my cookies and cache, which didn't help. Just for info
__________________
watch it, sliiiiimeball! I don't have time to play with you today.

Last edited by jesters.ice; 18-11-2011 at 10:43 AM.
jesters.ice is offline                         Send a private message to jesters.ice
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Posts not showing up to me? Aroman Old Suggestions 3 25-06-2010 08:00 PM
re recent forum posts grumps Old Suggestions 7 30-06-2009 03:30 PM
About the Forum not showing Mighty Midget Old Suggestions 0 21-12-2008 12:04 AM
Hompage 'Recent Forum Posts' bug? HoffmannJ68 Old Suggestions 1 03-12-2007 02:37 PM
Forums Not Showing New Posts? TheSmyth Tech Corner 6 22-04-2005 10:12 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:57 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.