Go Back   Forums > Updates Workflow > Offers
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-05-2009, 06:19 PM   #1
MrFlibble
Hero Gamer
 
MrFlibble's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weiherhof, Germany
Posts: 495
Arrow MrFlibble

Some time ago I have contributed to Abandonia the Improved AI Scenario (Mission) Pack for Dune II, which fixed a nasty error called the team bug, which prevented the AI from assembling attack teams of combat vehicles, thus reducing game difficulty (not to say disabling an important game feature). Since then, I have made a revised version of Dune II missions, with even more errors fixed (the devs have left quite a few of them, see below), and compiled a small patch that fixes the "team bug" and some other errors. Apart from that, it modifies the game's setup program to enable multiple sound device selection, akin to the official sound patch from Westwood Studios, whilst retaining lanaguage selection as well (the Westwood patch was designed for the US release and does not support language selection).

Here's the full list of changes:

Gameplay fixes:
  • Fixed the internal syntax error which prevented the AI from assembling attack teams of vehicles ("team bug").
  • Structures will now decay only if placed on bare rock or an incomplete foundation. Structures that were placed on normal concrete foundation will only take damage in case of power shortage.
  • Looped reinforcements are now enabled in certain missions.
Mission-specific fixes:
  • Removed the unused CHOAM (Starport related) section from SCENA001.
  • Removed obsolete reinforcement sections from SCENA002, SCENA003, SCENA004 and SCENH004.
  • Fixed the victory conditions in SCENA004 so that the mission can be won by destroying the enemy base and not only by harvesting the spice quota.
  • Fixed invalid spice bloom placement in SCENA005.
  • Changed Ordos Launcher to Ordos Troopers in SCENA020 and SCENA021.
  • Changed Atreides Troopers to Atreides Infantry in SCENA022.
  • Removed junk lines (probably obsolete map data) from SCENH002 and SCENH007.
  • Changed Harkonnen Trike to Harkonnen Quad in SCENH005, SCENH006 and SCENH007.
  • Fixed incorrect hit point values for pre-placed buildings in SCENH006.
  • Reinstated the sandworms that were commented out in SCENH008.
  • Fixed the error that disabled Devastator reinforcements in SCENH017, SCENH018 and SCENH019.
  • Changed Harkonnen Infantry to Harkonnen Troopers in SCENH020.
  • Removed duplicate Spice Silo and Light Factory structures in SCENO005 (two identical structures were positioned at the same coordinates).
  • Changed Ordos Trike to Ordos Raider Trike in SCENO005, SCENO006 and SCENO007.
  • Replaced SCENO015 with a different map, as it was identical to SCENO014.
  • Changed Ordos Launcher to Ordos Deviator in SCENO019.
  • Increased the unit limit for the AI players to 25 in SCENO021.
  • Changed the player's starting credits from 1500 to 1000 in SCENO022 (the extra 500 credits were a result of an error).
  • Changed Atreides Troopers to Atreides Infantry in SCENH011, SCENH012, SCENH013, SCENH020, SCENHO021, SCENH022, SCENO008, SCENO009, SCENO010, SCENO020, SCENO021 and SCENO022.
  • Changed the Atreides WOR to Atreides Barracks in SCENH022, SCENO014, SCENO015, SCENO016 and SCENO022, so that the Atreides can produce infantry.
  • Fixed all missions where the MaxUnit value name was misspelled as MaxUnits for an AI player (SCENA005, SCEN017, SCENA018, SCENA019, SCENH017, SCENH018, SCENH019, SCENO017, SCENO018, SCENO019).
  • Fixed the error which prevented the player from buying Ornithopters at the Starport in SCENA020, SCENA021, SCENA022, SCENH020, SCENH021, SCEHNH022, SCENO020, SCENO021 and SCENO022.
  • Set the spice quota value to 0 in SCENA022, SCENH022 and SCENO022 (was 2500, but did not actually affect anything).
Mentat information fixes:
  • Fixed incorrect power consumption values for the Barracks and the Starport (the incorrect values of 20 and 80 were changed to the actual 10 and 50).
  • Light Factory entries in the Atreides and Ordos Mentat databases are now accessible from mission 2 (since the Atreides and Ordos can build Light Factories in this mission).
  • Spice Silos entry is no longer shown on mission 1.
  • Fixed incorrect information in the advice for mission 2 (any House); the Mentat tells that the Barracks/WOR required a Windtrap to be built, whereas actually it requires an Outpost as well.
  • Removed two obsolete entries in German from the English Harkonnen Mentat database (EU and HitSquad versions).
In-game spelling fixes:
  • Fixed the spelling of the word "Ornithopter" (was "Ornithipter").
  • Fixed the spelling of the word "incompatible" (yes, I'm pedantic ).
  • Fixed the spelling of the word "complement" in the copy protection dialogue.
  • Fixed the spelling of the word "Starport" in the building hints section.
Sound fixes:
  • Removed the clicking noise from some of the game sound effects.
  • Restored a missing voice clip during missile launch countdown in French and German (European and HitSquad releases).
Misc:
  • Fixed a graphical glitch that would occur between some missions in the HitSquad version.
Setup program changes:
  • The setup program now allows to configure multiple sound devices for DUNE II (check SETSOUND.TXT for more information).
  • Several text mistakes in the setup dialogue were fixed, most notably the music device selection screen, which no longer contains the misleading line "Play sound from" (changed to "Play music from").
Great thanks to:
The patch is compatible with the release of the game hosted at Abandonia (called the EU version in the patch package). If you decide it's worth hosting, I think you can remove the old scenario pack I've mentioned above, and the Westwood sound patch, too.

Last edited by MrFlibble; 12-03-2010 at 12:43 PM.
MrFlibble is offline                         Send a private message to MrFlibble
Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 05:03 AM   #2
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default

If you're sure we can remove your previous fix and put this instead, but the official patch remains, because there are people who prefer to play it raw.
__________________
Don't think about the probabilities. The smallest chance can take us a long way forward. It's not like we have anything else to lose.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2009, 05:37 PM   #3
MrFlibble
Hero Gamer
 
MrFlibble's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weiherhof, Germany
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalAnarchy View Post
If you're sure we can remove your previous fix and put this instead
Yes, the old fix is certainly outdated, and lacks a lot of features introduced by the new patch.

As for the official sound patch, I don't know why WS did not do a similar one for the European three-language release - probably this is because that release was made by an external company in the UK, as I've heard. Anyhow, the option to select different sound devices for music and speech is present in all versions of the Dune II setup program, only it is disabled. Great thanks to Nyerguds for re-enabling it in the three-language version setup!
MrFlibble is offline                         Send a private message to MrFlibble
Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2009, 06:41 AM   #4
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default

Ok, I'll do it tomorrow. Thank you for the effort of keeping Dune II clean and alive.
__________________
Don't think about the probabilities. The smallest chance can take us a long way forward. It's not like we have anything else to lose.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2009, 08:01 PM   #5
MrFlibble
Hero Gamer
 
MrFlibble's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weiherhof, Germany
Posts: 495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalAnarchy View Post
Ok, I'll do it tomorrow. Thank you for the effort of keeping Dune II clean and alive.
My pleasure
MrFlibble is offline                         Send a private message to MrFlibble
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2009, 07:55 PM   #6
Gilneas
Lurker

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Aberaeron, Wales
Posts: 1
Default

Trojan detected in exe. W32/Smalltroj.GEON
Gilneas is offline                         Send a private message to Gilneas
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2009, 08:26 PM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,532
Default

what are you using? kaspersky says it's clean
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2009, 08:29 PM   #8
Paco
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Paco's Avatar



 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Posts: 2,988
Send a message via ICQ to Paco Send a message via MSN to Paco Send a message via Yahoo to Paco
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r.u.s.s. View Post
kaspersky says it's clean
True, but:

http://virusscan.jotti.org/de/scanre...8491e61a618d48
__________________
Legends will never die.

Check here for Maps i made
Paco is offline                         Send a private message to Paco
Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2009, 08:35 PM   #9
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,532
Default

probably mistake of this "norman"
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2009, 07:27 PM   #10
MrFlibble
Hero Gamer
 
MrFlibble's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Weiherhof, Germany
Posts: 495
Default

Antivirus software tools often report false positives in custom-generated EXE files. There should not be any trojans in the patch.

However, if you want, I can just package all the modified files into a RAR/7zip archive, but then it will be larger, and there will be risk of people installing the patch upon a wrong version of Dune II (there are, in fact, several different releases of Dune II with the version number 1.07) , which can even lead to game crashes.
MrFlibble is offline                         Send a private message to MrFlibble
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:20 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.