Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19-10-2004, 01:29 PM   #1
Jonathan
Guest
Default

Hello everyone, I first off want to say I really like the site, it has an incredible selection of quality games, and everyone here seems really friendly.

I recently downloaded Heroes of Might and Magic and am running it on DosBox. The only problem is, the game is incredibly slow. I'm not much of a troubleshooter, has anyone had this problem or know of a solution for it?
                       
Old 19-10-2004, 01:35 PM   #2
Havell
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 1,325
Default

I think it's Ctrl+F11 to speed up DOSBox, check this:

Newbie's guide to DOSBox
Havell is offline                         Send a private message to Havell
Old 19-10-2004, 02:39 PM   #3
Red Diablo
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 110
Default

Ctrl+F12 to speed up, Ctrl+F11 is for slowing down. k:
Red Diablo is offline                         Send a private message to Red Diablo
Old 21-10-2004, 01:11 PM   #4
Jonathan
Guest
Default

Thanks for all your help guys... worked a bit... I still find myself waiting up to a minute or 2 everytime the computer takes it's turn. Oh well.
                       
Old 21-10-2004, 01:30 PM   #5
TheVoid
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 968
Default

A slow machine could be the cause....though, if you have an average or less machine with WinME or 98 installed, the game will work like a charm without needing DOSBox.
TheVoid is offline                         Send a private message to TheVoid
Old 25-10-2004, 06:15 PM   #6
gregor
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
gregor's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Agalli, Albania
Posts: 1,021
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jonathan@Oct 21 2004, 01:11 PM
Thanks for all your help guys... worked a bit... I still find myself waiting up to a minute or 2 everytime the computer takes it's turn. Oh well.
also you can set teh speed computer is moving at in your options screen. set it to gallop (or any quick-pace horse move) it should spee dit up a bit.
but if you play on a big map sometimes he just takes his time no matter the processor speed.

also i am not sure you really need DOSbox to play this game at all. especially in WIN 98
__________________
Crantius Colto: Fear not. You are safe here with me.
Lifts-Her-Tail: I must finish my cleaning, sir. The mistress will have my head if I do not!
Crantius Colto: Cleaning, eh? I have something for you. Here, polish my spear.
Lifts-Her-Tail: But it is huge! It could take me all night!
Crantius Colto: Plenty of time, my sweet. Plenty of time.
From The Lusty Argonian Maid by Crassius Curio found in TES3: Morrowind
gregor is offline                         Send a private message to gregor
Old 25-10-2004, 06:19 PM   #7
Yamcha
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 851
Default

If you have Win98 you don't need DosBox.Well maybe for certain games,But I'm running all my games without DosBox and I have no prblems k:
__________________
Some men see things as they are and ask "why?". I dream things that never were, and ask "why not?".
Yamcha is offline                         Send a private message to Yamcha
Old 08-12-2009, 09:43 AM   #8
RRS
(Gaming) History Buff
 
RRS's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 586
Exclamation

Regarding the CD audio error - Windows 95 version ("the game can't play 16-bit stereo audio so it will revert to 8-bit, blah blah, too long command: time range, something something") :

after few tests I'm betting this to be OS related problem. This error will occur if a certain event interrupts musical background (like picking up treasure), as the game wants to get back to a certain point of the audio track and fails. This seems to happen on Windows XP. It doesn't seem hardware related (the same drive plays fine if we switch to Win98), neither this is the case of "image mounted vs. CD in drive".

The answer is to play in old Win98 to get CD audio.
RRS is offline                         Send a private message to RRS
Old 08-12-2009, 05:45 PM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The answer is, per usual, to use DOSBox with Windows XP. It been created for that.

And also, resurrecting 5 years old threads does not amuse me. <_<
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heroes Of Might And Magic I SixApes Forum Games 10 05-02-2007 01:39 PM
Heroes Of Might & Magic 5 Nearly Here! Blake00 Gaming Zone 48 30-05-2006 07:48 PM
Heroes Of Might And Magic Iv... Eagle of Fire Blah, blah, blah... 20 28-12-2004 11:59 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:43 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.