Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 28-12-2005, 12:57 AM   #1
ReamusLQ
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,001
Default

Hey, I'm supposed to help set up this wireless at an office, but I'm in a bit of a pickle. Everything is Apple, and that is fine to set up, except for the secretary's desktop. She has a PC, and I need to be able to get her PC to use Apple's AirPort wireless system thing. Is there a specific wireless card I need to use for the two to be compatible?

Also, I've never installed a wireless card into a desktop before. How does one go about it? Does it plug directly into the motherboard like RAM does, or is there some trick.

Any help (quickly) would be fabulous, as I'm supposed to set it up in a little over 24 hours. Thank you!
ReamusLQ is offline                         Send a private message to ReamusLQ
Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2005, 01:53 PM   #2
Shrek
Abandonia Ogre


 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 506
Default

well, my "home network" is wireless, and I have 3 desktop connected.

However I can't help you much because I don't know how that "Apple AirPort wireless" system thing works. All I can say is that for desktops there are several kinds of cards, I' m using USB 2.0 wireless cards but there are also PCI cards. They are installed like any other ordinary hardware - usually they come with the necessary drivers, but then they will need to be configured (as part of a network, with an IP address and all that stuff). Sorry if this isn't much help :whistle:
Shrek is offline                         Send a private message to Shrek
Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-2005, 02:27 PM   #3
duckpatch
Game freak

 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Abdurrazak, Afghanistan
Posts: 127
Default

If she aint using Apple's AirPort then that doesn't matter I think. Just enter the IP address, SSID, etc.

ReamusLQ, you look like a smart lad! What does the wireless card look like? I think I heard Shrek say the answer! Its a PCE card so it should just go into a PCI slot on the motherboard like normal.

I'm too tired to google any answers for the Apple scanerio but I believe you just enter the right details and it will work (If they have WEP makesure you know the key)
duckpatch is offline                         Send a private message to duckpatch
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless or not? Juanca Tech Corner 12 03-01-2008 04:32 PM
Anyone Experienced Setting Up A Virtual Pc? Mighty Midget Tech Corner 36 14-08-2007 03:09 AM
Setting Up Dosbox Gary Troubleshooting 8 17-04-2006 07:47 PM
Wireless Skumpaq Tech Corner 10 25-03-2006 06:07 PM
Email Setting Eagle of Fire Blah, blah, blah... 0 31-05-2005 09:12 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:45 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.