Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2005, 01:23 PM   #1
VERTICAL PIG
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 14
Thumbs up

OK, discoverd dfend, iv been doing things the slow way.

problem:after browseing the dir game.exe and setup.exe useing dfend
dosbox goes to the wrong dir

-----------------------------------
using dosbox alone that works
-----------------------------------
correct dir is- d:\>cd tetsuo~1\tetsuo~2\the game folder

d:\>the game exe (yaaaaa i get to play a kool game, me happy)

----------------------------
using dfend for dosbox (highlighted in red is the problem)
----------------------------
what happens- d:\>cd tetsuo~1\tetsuo~1\the game folder\.

unable to change to: tetsuo~1\tetsuo~1\the game folder\.

d:\>the game.exe
illegal command: the game.exe.

the full name of the directory is D:\Tetsuo K\Tetsuo's Games\
aka-d:\(tetsuo~1)\(tetsuo~2)


do i need to rename my folders? can this be avoided? id rather not
VERTICAL PIG is offline                         Send a private message to VERTICAL PIG
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 01:28 PM   #2
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

well dosbox and winxp name the folders differently if they are longer then 8 characters. As dfend is the middle man it sometimes get's the name wrong.

__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 01:33 PM   #3
VERTICAL PIG
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Data@Jun 9 2005, 01:28 PM
well dosbox and winxp name the folders differently if they are longer then 8 characters. As dfend is the middle man it sometimes get's the name wrong.
yes useing cmd.exe or command.com it would be ~1 to ~1
and useing the box is ~1 to ~2 what should i do? it rhymes see
VERTICAL PIG is offline                         Send a private message to VERTICAL PIG
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 03:54 PM   #4
VERTICAL PIG
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 14
Post

Well fixed it, autoexec't it

Like so-

d:
cd tetsuo~1\tetsuo~2\the game folder
the game.exe

Vertical Pig wins k:
VERTICAL PIG is offline                         Send a private message to VERTICAL PIG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dfend, the handy dandy front end omg Troubleshooting Archive 11 07-06-2005 11:02 AM
Dfend The Handy Dandy Front End Rogue Troubleshooting 6 03-05-2005 12:15 AM
Dosbox + Dfend Tycho Troubleshooting 13 31-01-2005 07:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:19 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.