Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Today's Posts
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 08-02-2012, 05:24 PM   #1
godlike

Default Ripping game-audio problem

Hello. I recently started playing the old game Gangsters Organized Crime. I own the original CD but Windows 7 cant play the music so when I play its just dead quiet. Id like to know how to rip the music from the CD in order to play it in the background while I play for maximum nostalgia. Ofc it would also be fine if I could simply play it from the CD somehow.

I have tried simply looking for the files myself but I cant find any files large enough for any music. I have also used a .CAB-extractor to look inside of the .CAB-file on the CD but theres no music to be found there either.

In my latest attempt I tried Game Audio Player but not even that program seems to find any music even though it says it supports that very game.

I hope somebody can help me.
godlike is offline                         Send a private message to godlike
Old 08-02-2012, 06:33 PM   #2
Smiling Spectre
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

Send a message via ICQ to Smiling Spectre Send a message via AIM to Smiling Spectre Send a message via MSN to Smiling Spectre

I presumed, you are in CD-audio zone here. So you have two paths.

1. Grab any CD->mp3 convertor like, say, free CDEx and rip your favorite music on your HDD.

2. Make full disc copy, with audio, by any cloning software, like Alcohol 128% or CloneCD. Unfortunately, I am not aware about any free such prog. Then mount resulting image with Daemon Tools and play in emulated Windows 98. You can emulate Win98 machine with free Virtual PC 2007, but you need installs of Win98 itself to work.
Smiling Spectre is offline                         Send a private message to Smiling Spectre
Old 08-02-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
Japo
Autonomous human

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiling Spectre View Post