Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2004, 08:53 PM   #1
Fawfulhasfury
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Fawfulhasfury's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Joseph, United States
Posts: 1,444
Default

I try to run WIN95 games to run on my XP, but a popup comes up saying the file AUTOEXEC.NT is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Can someone please help!!! :help:
Fawfulhasfury is offline                         Send a private message to Fawfulhasfury
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 08:57 PM   #2
Sebatianos
[BANNED]
 
Sebatianos's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ljutomer, Slovenia
Posts: 3,883
Default

I have some games that won't run (Allied General, Power Chess). I dual boot. There are some programs that let you fix that - but they cost a lot
Sebatianos is offline                         Send a private message to Sebatianos
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:01 PM   #3
Fawfulhasfury
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Fawfulhasfury's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Joseph, United States
Posts: 1,444
Default

No other way? I wish there was a DOSBOX-like prog that let you run WIN95 games on the XP. And by the way a lot is too much to pay for these progs. LOL
Fawfulhasfury is offline                         Send a private message to Fawfulhasfury
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:23 PM   #4
Kon-Tiki
[BANNED]

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Dentergem, Belgium
Posts: 1,811
Default

A bit too :whistle: But Autoexec.nt... sounds like something for Windows NT, not XP... would logically be Autoexec.bat or Autoexec.xp
Kon-Tiki is offline                         Send a private message to Kon-Tiki
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:32 PM   #5
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

well Autoexec and config.nt are used for running old programs by the system. If they aren't working for you, I suggest you re-download them from the net and that might fix it.
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:33 PM   #6
Fawfulhasfury
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Fawfulhasfury's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Joseph, United States
Posts: 1,444
Default

Well, I checked the folder it was supposed to be under and there was no trace of the file the pop-up mentioned anywhere. :blink: :help:
Fawfulhasfury is offline                         Send a private message to Fawfulhasfury
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 09:42 PM   #7
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

check in C:\windows\system32. If they aren't there search on google for autoexec.nt download of something.
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:04 PM   #8
Fawfulhasfury
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Fawfulhasfury's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Joseph, United States
Posts: 1,444
Default

ok, thanks
Fawfulhasfury is offline                         Send a private message to Fawfulhasfury
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:16 PM   #9
mouse31e
Games Master

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Aylesbury, England
Posts: 335
Default

I don't know how many threads I've said this in now!

Search for autoexec.nt it's on your computer but the problem is that it's not in the system32 folder where it should be because something has moved it! Once you find it copy it back to system32 and your games should work fine. Make sure you get autoexec.nt and NOT autoexec.nt_ . They are different files.

autoexec.nt is the winXP version of autoexec.bat. The game is looking for it in system32 where it should be but it can't find it so it returns that error message which doesn't really make sense.

Hope this helps!!!!
mouse31e is offline                         Send a private message to mouse31e
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2004, 10:40 PM   #10
Fawfulhasfury
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Fawfulhasfury's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Saint Joseph, United States
Posts: 1,444
Default

It was in the folder C:\WINDOWS\repair
I found that out after I found a site that mentioned how to fix this problem.
Thanks
Fawfulhasfury is offline                         Send a private message to Fawfulhasfury
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Get Win95 Game To Run In Xp Ol Dirty Bastard Troubleshooting 14 18-02-2015 07:00 PM
Win95 Vs. Winnt Compatibility Gormash Troubleshooting 5 10-12-2007 12:46 PM
Problem With Games When Alt+enter.. gossaire Troubleshooting 3 08-12-2006 01:49 PM
Dos Games Problem Mr.Modem Troubleshooting 6 25-04-2005 07:19 PM
General Problem With Most Old Games GuyWithRealAbandonwareProblems Troubleshooting 22 16-01-2005 06:27 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:54 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.