Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-11-2007, 09:50 PM   #1
supermario
Lurker

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Question running games on Dosbox? HELP!

Hi!

Unfortunately I'm one of those people with a question that is probably not hard to answer. I'm gonna ask it anyway, since reading the forum didn't help a lot. :confused:

I just downloaded a couple of DOS games, but some of them don't have sound (and I know they should have). So I downloaded Dosbox in the hope the games would perform better. The problem is: I have no idea how to launch the games! I followed the manual posted on this forum (by horse-rider) and have mounted to my C drive (program files to be exact, since that is where I placed the games).

When I enter C:>DIR a list appears with a couple of zip.files, exe.files and I guess some main directories? (like: WINRAR )

So I guess my question is: What commands do I use to start the games?
Thanks for your help!
supermario is offline                         Send a private message to supermario
Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2007, 10:04 PM   #2
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

I strongly advise you NOT to use 'program files'.
Follow the manual and use C:\Oldgames
Next:
Unzip the games in C:\Oldgames\folder\
Use names shorter then 8 characters, no spaces.

run dosbox
mount c c:\oldgames
c:
cd folder
dir

Look for a *.exe or bat, whatever.

Also I would advise you to specify your game, not a 'whole' bunch of them, cause then you can only get general advise.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 30-11-2007, 01:24 AM   #3
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Valladolid, Spain
Posts: 4,357
Default

You must unzip the games before you can play.
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Old Cd Rom Games With Dosbox ddamaged Troubleshooting 1 01-11-2005 03:17 PM
Running Settlers With Dosbox moosefoof Troubleshooting 1 09-07-2005 12:30 AM
Running Xcom1 On Dosbox Pipotchi Troubleshooting 1 21-03-2005 07:31 AM
Dosbox Games Are Running Slow! fezzador Troubleshooting 16 12-01-2005 08:53 PM
Running DOSBox on a Mac (King's Quest games) RCR General compatibility fixes 8 25-06-2004 03:57 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:29 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.