Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2007, 06:37 PM   #1
Anders Skogli
Guest
Default

Hey.
I've downloaded TTD from your site. But I can't manage to start it.
After I have moved the regestryfile over to the folder i start the registryfile, and restart my computer.
Then, when I try to start it it pops up a MS-DOS window for 1 second, and it disepear.

I cant figure out what the problem is...



PS. sorry for my bad english, I come from Norway.

Please help me.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 06:47 PM   #2
PrejudiceSucks
Above-Par
 
PrejudiceSucks's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: York, England
Posts: 741
Default

Just run it from Windows, it should work that way.

And no problem at all with your English
PrejudiceSucks is offline                         Send a private message to PrejudiceSucks
Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2007, 04:38 PM   #3
Guest
Guest
Default

Run it from Windows? Isn't that what I'm doing?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2007, 07:29 PM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You need to use the patched icon, the one with two band-aids on it.

If it still doesn't work, I suggest you try to run it with VDMSound.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 12:32 PM   #5
Morestyles2000
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

Long time reader, first time poster...
I'm having similar problems, I have dl it twice, imported the reg file... cleaned the registry, done it all over again and still cannot get it to work on my laptop, sporting XP home. I don't however think it's the O.S. as stated it works on Xp fine, plus I have followed the dl instructions to the letter (don't tell anyone but it hums nicely on my work pc which I run from a flashdrive.. shouldn't make any difference though right?). I must be doing something wrong, please advise!?!?!

Yours truly
:wallbash:
Morestyles2000 is offline                         Send a private message to Morestyles2000
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 01:59 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,262
Default

As EoF said, try the "bandaged" icon.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 03:03 PM   #7
arand
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Andorra, Andorra
Posts: 39
Default

When it comes to TTD I always recommend OpenTTD: http://www.openttd.org

What you do is:

1: Unpack the files downloaded from this site (Abandonia) to a temporary directory.

2: Start the OpenTTD (downloaded from link above) installer.

3: When asked for the installed TTD folder point to the temporary folder from step 1.

3: Finish and run game.

Pisakeyk.

- Arand
arand is offline                         Send a private message to arand
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 07:54 PM   #8
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

The problem of MoreStyles is probably because he's trying to run the game on a laptop. Laptops have a lot of screen resolution problems.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2007, 04:50 PM   #9
arand
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Andorra, Andorra
Posts: 39
Default

As far as my laptop went, TTD worked both with some thorough patching (although you were unable to play in fullscreen), and with OpenTTD (with which I encountered no issues whatsoever).

One thing that's also in favour of OpenTTD is the Online MP capabity (and yes, a whole bunch of games was on, last time I checked).

There's also a lot of extra tweks and patches in OpenTTD.

/point hopefully made/use OpenTTD/end rant/
_________

But tell me, how is things working out for you out there?

- Arand

arand is offline                         Send a private message to arand
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Kosta Games Discussion 508 26-10-2015 04:39 PM
Newbie help with Transport Tycoon Deluxe pettybureaucrat Troubleshooting 21 20-08-2009 08:17 AM
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Challenge Eagle of Fire Forum Games 0 31-08-2005 12:22 AM
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Flashman12 Troubleshooting 5 24-07-2005 06:48 PM
Transport Tycoon Deluxe Ali Troubleshooting 3 13-02-2005 07:41 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:53 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.