Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22-11-2006, 12:43 PM   #1
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Did anyone manage to succesfully install that thing on DosBox 0.65?
For me it just keeps giving some "file missing" message.

I'm currently using an older version of NC that I copied from my old DOS machine, but the one on AB seems to be more up-to-date version.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2006, 07:26 PM   #2
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

got it a futher when using 0.61
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2006, 11:01 AM   #3
mika
Games Master
 
mika's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 308
Default

Rather try use Dos Navigator. Much, much better.

Someone should probably add it to the utils page on Abandonia too.
mika is offline                         Send a private message to mika
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 06:26 PM   #4
lwc
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 52
Default

I've had no trouble installing it in DOSBox 0.70, but I came here wondering what's the difference between the installation ZIP and the images. I didn't bother downloading the images.

Also, please fix the version in the download page from 5.5 to 5.51. True, only the install.cfg file indicates it's 5.51 and not 5.5, but it's 5.51 nonetheless.
lwc is offline                         Send a private message to lwc
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 11:19 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

QUOTE(lwc @ May 4 2007, 08:26 PM) [snapback]289257[/snapback]
Quote:
I've had no trouble installing it in DOSBox 0.70, but I came here wondering what's the difference between the installation ZIP and the images. I didn't bother downloading the images.

Also, please fix the version in the download page from 5.5 to 5.51. True, only the install.cfg file indicates it's 5.51 and not 5.5, but it's 5.51 nonetheless.
[/b]
well
Quote:
Originally posted by www.abandonia.com
*.img files can be copied to real floppies
you ll have 'prepared' floppy for instalation on any computer, while the zip is one big file with already installed version (that cant be put in to one floppy)

btw, next time make a new topic, dont ressurect old ones=)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 12:54 PM   #6
lwc
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
well[/b]
Well, I hope it'll get done...
Quote:
the zip is one big file with already installed version (that cant be put in to one floppy)[/b]
Escuse me? The zip is an installation just as well only not divided to multiple files.

Quote:
btw, next time make a new topic, dont ressurect old ones=)[/b]
Think about it, if everybody followed your advise, each game would have 10000000000 topics...
lwc is offline                         Send a private message to lwc
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2007, 01:12 PM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

first of all. whats your problem? o_O

second of all, the fact that its divided in to multiple files means, that it can be put on floppes (like i said..) and easily transferred on different computer with floppy drives, where one big file cant be sticked.

and that thing about topics.. games discussion and troubleshooting is something different. read the rules, -iwc-, no ressurecting after 3-4 weeks .. and this thread was half year old
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 08:39 PM   #8
bobson
Game is over
 
bobson's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wojewodztwo Malopolskie, Poland
Posts: 997
Default

What is the point to install it under DOSBox? Is there a chance to "save" installed programs under DOSBox? Or is it just installed and ready to work both under DOSBox and (possibly) Windows?
__________________
bobson is offline                         Send a private message to bobson
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2007, 09:06 PM   #9
jg007
Super Freak
 
jg007's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Peterlee, England
Posts: 169
Default

QUOTE(bob-satan @ May 6 2007, 09:39 PM) [snapback]289433[/snapback]
Quote:
What is the point to install it under DOSBox? [/b]
personally I can see no point at ALL for using norton commander in dosbox. why on earth would you want to do that??????, windows explorer will do your file managment.

heck, I am a real dos fanboy and even I wouldn't bother using it!

just my opinion so feel free to enlighten me
jg007 is offline                         Send a private message to jg007
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 09:49 AM   #10
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,338
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

QUOTE(jg007 @ May 6 2007, 11:06 PM) [snapback]289436[/snapback]
Quote:
personally I can see no point at ALL for using norton commander in dosbox. why on earth would you want to do that??????, windows explorer will do your file managment.

heck, I am a real dos fanboy and even I wouldn't bother using it!

just my opinion so feel free to enlighten me[/b]
Well when I was a kid I accidently started a process in the NC and it screwed the harddisk... <_<
I had little knowledge of it, so...
I think it is a nice tool for maneuvering through DOS (dos box started).
Of course the Windows Explorer will work for file management.
It's maybe a matter of taste.
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norton Commander jstrand0876 Troubleshooting 2 22-12-2007 10:07 AM
Can't find Norton Commander to download. armitage Old Suggestions 3 05-12-2007 12:21 AM
Link to download Norton Commander? Belgath Troubleshooting 7 04-12-2007 05:39 PM
Cannot Download Norton Commander JudgeDeadd Old Suggestions 3 18-06-2007 02:06 PM
Norton Commander Sebatianos Gaming Zone 6 05-05-2005 12:45 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:36 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.