Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 07:14 PM   #261
fleabag
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Irmo, United States
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Henrik View Post
Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
Neat game! Now how do I hitch aride on the eagle?
fleabag is offline                         Send a private message to fleabag
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 03:25 PM   #262
fleabag
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Irmo, United States
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Surfsuds View Post
Here's a walkthrough for us that needs it:

http://www.uhs-hints.com/uhsweb/hints/fable/1.php

I love adventure games. Thanks Abandonia!
Thanks, that was a BIGhelp!
fleabag is offline                         Send a private message to fleabag
Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2010, 05:55 AM   #263
Alicuza
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serja View Post
Hello,

I know this question has been answered before, but I am still having issues even after trying the aforementioned solution.

I've gotten the game to work in DOSbox. The intro plays great and I even got the speech working, but for some reason the game keeps freezing. I can't get past the first screen. When I go to walk off and load the next area it starts to fade to black and then freezes, all the sounds going into a little loop and becoming unresponsive.

I cranked up DOSBox to 6000 Cycles, and when the game is running it says it is running at MAX Cycles, but it still freezes. I'm not sure if I can change any of the configurations to make the thing stop freezing or not, but any help would be appreciated.

My system is fairly new. Here are some rough specs:

Acer Aspire 5672WLMI
Windows XP Professional SP3
Intel P4 1.66 Ghz Core Duo
2 GB DDR2 RAM
ATI Mobility x1400 512MB VRAM

I think those are the pertinent specs. I am running the latest version of DOSBox with a relatively original configuration, as I'm pretty unfamiliar with all the bells and whistles it offers just yet.

Is this an issue with my DOSBox conf or is it something else?

Again, any help is appreciated.
I have a similar system and the same problem. What to do? I even tried going as high as 20k cycles... Still freezes.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2010, 06:09 AM   #264
red_avatar
Administrator
 
red_avatar's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Roeselare, Belgium
Posts: 1,441
Default

I'll have to test this when I get home but it may be caused by the rip.
__________________

red_avatar is offline                         Send a private message to red_avatar
Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 11:04 AM   #265
Igorovics
Forum hobbit
 
Igorovics's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kaposvar, Hungary
Posts: 28
Default

There are some annoying things in the game, but I think it's good anyway (haven't seen the end sequence yet). Thank you for the uploaded EXE file and SPEECH.DAT!
__________________
4,77 Mhz, 640K RAM, 20 MByte hard disk, MS-DOS 3.3

Last edited by Igorovics; 10-09-2010 at 09:11 AM.
Igorovics is offline                         Send a private message to Igorovics
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2010, 04:31 AM   #266
RitingFool
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Prescott Valley, United States
Posts: 8
Default

I can't even run the game. I'm using DosBox .74 with Windows Vista. Whenever I run the Fable application file from DosBox, it gives me a "Fable CD-ROM missing, please insert and hit a key" error message.

What is wrong here?! Any help is appreciated.

Regards,
Michael
RitingFool is offline                         Send a private message to RitingFool
Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2010, 02:21 PM   #267
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

it never happened to me. how do you run the game?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-2010, 06:08 PM   #268
Oskatat
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 132
Default

if its not provided with a cd crack, sometimes you need to use "mount (x) "(directory of files)" -t cdrom"

it makes dosbox recognise that directory as a cdrom template
most games dont need it, but its a possibility
Oskatat is offline                         Send a private message to Oskatat
Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 08:14 PM   #269
RitingFool
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Prescott Valley, United States
Posts: 8
Default

Well, I downloaded the full CD version from the ISO Cellar. Mounted it, and now it runs perfectly normally (with full speech, even!). The only problem is a major screen "flicker". Does the monitor's Hz level need to be adjusted, or is this a game issue that needs to be addressed within config files, or ??

The flicker is annoying, but I guess the game is playable with it. If only I didn't have the strange feeling the game was gonna shut down at any minute because of it!

EDIT: I went back and lowered my monitor's Hz level from 75 to 60, and it seems to have fixed my flicker problem! Yay!

Regards,
Michael

Last edited by RitingFool; 05-10-2010 at 08:18 PM.
RitingFool is offline                         Send a private message to RitingFool
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 02:01 PM   #270
BranjoHello
Skilled WormMaster
 
BranjoHello's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Stara Pazova, Serbia and Montenegro
Posts: 584
Default

Just finished this one. Humor was excellent, puzzles ok (also you can die in many many ways), but ending was just terrible, ruined the experience.
__________________
I'm just G@mer4Life!!!
Life is tricky, it doesn't have "Load Game"!

BranjoHello is offline                         Send a private message to BranjoHello
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fable The Fifth Horseman F 8 30-06-2015 06:27 PM
Fable Brisk Troubleshooting 0 31-08-2006 10:21 PM
Fable - crashes KBlunt Troubleshooting 3 21-08-2006 03:22 PM
Fable michml114 Troubleshooting 0 22-09-2005 08:28 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:24 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.