Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-07-2004, 07:28 PM   #1
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default Aces Over Europe

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review

Last edited by Luchsen; 22-01-2008 at 02:26 PM.
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2004, 05:57 PM   #2
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

How'd you drop bombs?!
and this will hopefully apply to AOTP aswell...
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 08:11 AM   #3
Canno
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 19
Default

Umm..... I think I'ts the Backspace key but I'm not sure....
At least it is on my game :wink:
Canno is offline                         Send a private message to Canno
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 09:07 AM   #4
Danny252
I have a custom title!

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Telford, England
Posts: 1,303
Default

cool...
die, fuhrer!
__________________
I liked the old forum.. =/
Danny252 is offline                         Send a private message to Danny252
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2004, 07:19 PM   #5
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

ops:

hossa18 supplied us with the quick reference card for the game at the same time that he gave us the game. We had just forgot to place it up.

I will not try to make excuses... I just want to say that this has been fixed and that the quick reference card is now available for download.
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2004, 02:03 PM   #6
Artiglio
Guest
Default

I have a problem with AOE.
My computer has a Pentium3 with 128MB, Matrox 32MB video card, Win 98.
Started AOE by Boot disk, great.
Then I was shot at : when the plane is hit, image disappears for several seconds. Unplayable.
Tried the same game on DOSBOX and Win 2000, more powerful computer ; it works OK but too slow.

Can I do something to fix the "blackout" problem ?
By the way, Aces Over the Pacific works fine, but no sound...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 26-12-2004, 08:03 PM   #7
Artiglio
Guest
Angry

Just for the record.
Tried boot disk on different computers, systems ranging from win 98 to 2000 to Millennium to XP : it is always the same as above : AOTP no sound, AOE goes black when plane is hit.
Tried old boot disc by Sierra in Win 98 ; doesn't work, no available memory.
A pity; AOE is full of add ons like Aces Over Russia, but there's no way to get it working.
Interestingly, when I go DOS via Boot Disk or DosBox my (normally Italian) keyboard changes...
This means I have to type Ascii ALT-58 to get " : "....
But on laptops Ascii doesn't work...

Sigh
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2004, 06:11 AM   #8
chickend
Guest
Default

the game is great! thanks guys.. i have no sound and malfunctioning mouse at first, but i used that install.exe and configured everything. everything works fine now. very difficult game to learn and master though. it boasts of realistic flight models but the stall is irritating. you must not get blackouts on STALLS, the aircraft should only nose down or dive (may it be power-on or power-off stalls), really irritating especially if you're already at the tail and about to shoot at an ace. blackouts are only acceptable i think if you're hit. on expert mode all bandits are sharpshooter they'll kill you in seconds and they're very difficult to shoot at.
AOE Overall rating: 8.4638734 of 10

                       
Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2004, 04:49 PM   #9
Wazza
Guest
Default

Took a few minutes, but I knew I'd read about the screen blackout problem before. There's an easy fix (this info from the readme):

Problem: Screen goes blank or becomes garbled when plane is hit by enemy
fire.
Solution: Some video cards cannot display the "screen shake" that occurs
when planes are hit by enemy fire. To fix the problem, change to the AOE
directory and type: SHAKEOFF. This will turn off the screen shaking
feature. SHAKEMED will allow a medium amount of screen shake and may
be an option for some video cards. SHAKEON will turn the screen shaking
back on.

So... give that a shot. :>
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 06:51 AM   #10
chickend
Guest
Default

:cheers: thanks wazza, i used the shakeoff.bat file and it worked. how lazy, i didn't read the readme file coz i was excited of the game. thanks again.
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant get aces over europe to run help blackb889 Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2008 11:27 PM
"aces Over Europe" Problem CaryMG Troubleshooting 4 28-03-2007 04:40 PM
Aces Over Europe, Dosbox And Usb Joysticks DDAYAM Troubleshooting 0 30-03-2005 08:23 AM
Aces Over Europe Help samtron Troubleshooting 0 18-01-2005 08:37 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:35 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.