Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2005, 04:12 AM   #1
Guest
Guest
Default

Im new to this, and I really like the idea.
Im just dont know how to actually start the game.
The game in question is Princess maker 2
I try the install comand and it doesnt even work.
I just wanted to know if im doing something wrong

Using: Windows XP, DosBox

Thanx
                       
Old 11-02-2005, 09:01 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,181
Default

Jeez, another newb... hopefully not a n00b.

In many old games the "install" file is used only to configure the sound and graphics settings. It would be neccesary to run it when playing from DosBox to get proper sound settings.

The actual game executable is labeled pm2.exe . Does this solve the problem?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Old 11-10-2009, 01:12 AM   #3
Misskosmic
Guest
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guest View Post
Im new to this, and I really like the idea.
Im just dont know how to actually start the game.
The game in question is Princess maker 2
I try the install comand and it doesnt even work.
I just wanted to know if im doing something wrong

Using: Windows XP, DosBox

Thanx
extract the PM2 folder in your C drive, so that it's located at c:\PM2\

After you open DosBox, type "Mount C C:\PM2\" and hit enter.
Now type "C:\" and hit enter
Now type "PM2" and hit enter, and the game should start up! Hold down F3 to make animations play at warp speed during gameplay, like a fast-forward button.

~Misskosmic
                       
Old 03-04-2010, 06:41 AM   #4
steelsmiter
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wesley, United States
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misskosmic View Post
extract the PM2 folder in your C drive, so that it's located at c:\PM2\

After you open DosBox, type "Mount C C:\PM2\" and hit enter.
Now type "C:\" and hit enter
Now type "PM2" and hit enter, and the game should start up! Hold down F3 to make animations play at warp speed during gameplay, like a fast-forward button.

~Misskosmic
You can go into the dosbox config file to run all that as an autoexec function on dosbox startup...
steelsmiter is offline                         Send a private message to steelsmiter
Old 03-04-2010, 04:03 PM   #5
Luchsen
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

The ellipsis seems like Man, they are so stupid that they type the commands by themselves! There are people out there, who want to play other games as well, and people, who are not lazy. Lazy like a bone, to be more accurate - it's three commands, three! Some people even like to type commands - they like to have the real DOS experience. Most of them went insane somewhen in the 1990s, these weirdos! They are so backward that they can remember the last millennium... :laugh:
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Old 05-04-2010, 08:09 AM   #6
steelsmiter
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wesley, United States
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luchsen View Post
The ellipsis seems like Man, they are so stupid that they type the commands by themselves! There are people out there, who want to play other games as well, and people, who are not lazy. Lazy like a bone, to be more accurate - it's three commands, three! Some people even like to type commands - they like to have the real DOS experience. Most of them went insane somewhen in the 1990s, these weirdos! They are so backward that they can remember the last millennium... :laugh:
Well... actually no it's not like I'm being lazy or I'm condescending to anyone for not thinking of it, it was more like oh hey if you have like one or two games you can keep several Dosbox Config files each with its own startup command, just copy and paste the file with the right autoexec and you're ready to go.
steelsmiter is offline                         Send a private message to steelsmiter
Old 05-04-2010, 09:52 AM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,181
Default

True that.
<==~130 games set up that way.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Old 05-04-2010, 06:58 PM   #8
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,879
Default

I am one of those who likes to type in DOS. For old time sake.

I am however not fond of thread resurrection.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Princess Maker 2 Tom Henrik Games Discussion 507 06-12-2013 06:58 PM
Princess Maker 2 Kyviera Troubleshooting 1 16-08-2005 09:37 AM
Princess Maker 2 Kennethjohn16 Troubleshooting 0 29-06-2005 08:53 PM
Princess Maker 2 scariman Troubleshooting 3 02-06-2005 03:57 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 04:09 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.