Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2006, 06:35 PM   #1
guesst
Abandonia Homie
 
guesst's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Aurora, United States
Posts: 606
Default A-Train

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)

Last edited by Luchsen; 25-01-2008 at 03:14 PM.
guesst is offline                         Send a private message to guesst
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 06:45 PM   #2
Maramil
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 32
Exclamation

I like this game, and remember it! (Yay, finally said something positive! :bleh: )
Maramil is offline                         Send a private message to Maramil
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 12:58 AM   #3
laiocfar
NOD Commander
 
laiocfar's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palermo, Argentina
Posts: 814
Default

I dont found where change the video option, the game looks nicely but the cityscape without color is a sort of cold.
__________________
2nd placed of 1st Ufo2000 Tournament!
laiocfar is offline                         Send a private message to laiocfar
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 10:18 AM   #4
Guest
Guest
Default

I remember this game too - Its quite hard if I remember ( I would have been about 10 years old when I played this last though); certainly easier to spend all your money without doing anything remotely useful or profitable compared with Railroad Tycoon anway. I think there was a cheat where you could somehow save the demo game running in the background of the title screen though! I cant wait to get home from work and download this and play it again!
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 10:24 AM   #5
DonCorleone
Hero Gamer
 
DonCorleone's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dusseldorf, Germany
Posts: 493
Default

Really a great game and an important addition to the site.
Looked for this gem a few month ago. BUt it was hardly to find...
Then, when I finally found it, the old version of dosbox didnt execute it properly. But I hadnt to wait too long until a new dosbox release was brought up.
Gameplay is - even today - quite hard I think. The biggest problem seemed to be to balance the trains right on their route...
DonCorleone is offline                         Send a private message to DonCorleone
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 11:47 AM   #6
Sharp
Game freak

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 149
Send a message via ICQ to Sharp
Default

Ahh a classic, great game indeed.

If I remember right on Chirstmas Eve you should be able to catch a glimpse of Santa Claus.
__________________


DxRxIx
Sharp is offline                         Send a private message to Sharp
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 09:08 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(laiocfar @ Jul 13 2006, 12:58 AM) [snapback]243010[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
I dont found where change the video option, the game looks nicely but the cityscape without color is a sort of cold.
[/b]
You can change the video using arguments when running atrain.bat. If you try to run atcons.exe it will tell you this:

Usage : ATCONS.EXE (VideoMode} {Mono/Color} [SoundSource]
VideoMode : /480 = 640x480
: /350 = 640x350
: /720 = Herculies Mono Mode
MonoColor : /M = Mono
: /C = Color

SoundSource : Optional
/NOSOUND
/IBM
/TANDY
/PS1
/ADLIB
/COVOX
/BLAST
/PPDAC
/ROLAND

Using this information, I would recommend this:

atrain /480 /C /IBM

... or something similar (there may be a better sound option, I'm not sure)

I tried to switch it to monochrome to see what you are seeing, but it has some sort of database error if I try it, I was able to turn off the sound though so I know those config settings work to some extent.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 13-07-2006, 09:20 PM   #8
stijnelijn
Guest
Default

If you want this game i would dl it fast if i were you.

I remember seeing this quite brilliant game on the feared esa list.

When i played this often the best way of making money seemed to be building and selling houses continously.

But there was a scenery which was quite profitable from the start on.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2006, 08:39 PM   #9
laiocfar
NOD Commander
 
laiocfar's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Palermo, Argentina
Posts: 814
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Guest @ Jul 13 2006, 06:08 PM) [snapback]243183[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(laiocfar @ Jul 13 2006, 12:58 AM) [snapback]243010[/snapback]
Quote:
I dont found where change the video option, the game looks nicely but the cityscape without color is a sort of cold.
[/b]
You can change the video using arguments when running atrain.bat. If you try to run atcons.exe it will tell you this:

Usage : ATCONS.EXE (VideoMode} {Mono/Color} [SoundSource]
VideoMode : /480 = 640x480
: /350 = 640x350
: /720 = Herculies Mono Mode
MonoColor : /M = Mono
: /C = Color

SoundSource : Optional
/NOSOUND
/IBM
/TANDY
/PS1
/ADLIB
/COVOX
/BLAST
/PPDAC
/ROLAND

Using this information, I would recommend this:

atrain /480 /C /IBM

... or something similar (there may be a better sound option, I'm not sure)

I tried to switch it to monochrome to see what you are seeing, but it has some sort of database error if I try it, I was able to turn off the sound though so I know those config settings work to some extent.
[/b][/quote]

I runned that file but it exit before i cant touch anything so, again we i can set the color on?
__________________
2nd placed of 1st Ufo2000 Tournament!
laiocfar is offline                         Send a private message to laiocfar
Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2006, 10:23 AM   #10
Drake3
Guest
Default

You need to use the command prompt, dosbox, or dos itself to run it.

To start the command prompt, go to the Start menu, Programs, Accessories, and then Command Prompt.

In the command prompt, type:

c: (replace "c" with the drive letter which a-train is on)

cd\a-train (replace "a-train" with the name of the folder a-train is in)

atrain /480 /C /IBM

That should hopefully work. You could also create a shortcut for atrain.bat and put /480 /C /IBM after its target if you don't like typing every time you wish to start the game.

If you tried this before, I am sorry I misunderstood you. On the other hand, if you have never used the command prompt before, then you will have to learn to be able to change the settings on this game. You may want to read some dos tutorials for help.

Hope this helps. k:
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Train - Escape To Normandy, The Sebatianos Games Discussion 35 28-04-2011 11:11 AM
REMEMBER? Honey Cereals Breakfast Train Game with some bee and a bear or something. dezza Unverified 6 13-02-2008 03:37 PM
A-train DonCorleone Gaming Zone 3 15-02-2007 03:23 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:58 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.