Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > The ISO Cellar > C
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-12-2007, 08:36 PM   #1
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default Command & Conquer - Tiberian Dawn Gold Edition

Command & Conquer - Tiberian Dawn Gold Edition
aka Command & Conquer - Tiberian Dawn Windows 95 Edition
aka Command & Conquer - Der Tiberiumkonflikt (SVGA-Version)

Info: Abandonia (original DOS), MobyGames

Download(s):
  • 4shared [ISO] [400 MB] GDI disc & [389 MB] NOD disc +WinXP install DOC
  • Megauploads [ISO] [174 MB] Addon
Uploaded by: Dave
Uploaded by: WolverineDK
__________________

Last edited by Dave; 23-01-2012 at 09:08 PM. Reason: link updated
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 06:51 PM   #2
Nyerguds
Game freak
 
Nyerguds's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium
Posts: 122
Default

(info below is outdated. Try the unofficial 1.06 patch instead)

---------------

Addon CD that enables the New Missions list and adds new missions taken from the publicly released Covert Ops demo and from the console versions of C&C:

Download(s):(if anyone can re-upload it to some other host it'd be much appreciated... leeching bandwidth from a friend for a big public download is probably not such a good idea)

This CD doesn't contain any of the new data found on the Covert Ops CD (which is not released as freeware so far), and is thus 100% legal.
Note that the 4 patches mentioned below are included on this CD.

--------------------

Notes:

If your screen turns black when you try to run C&C95, open CCSETUP.EXE and set the screen resolution to 640x480

If that doesn't help, try lowering your screen refresh rate to (at least) 70 Hz.

--------------------

Patches/fixes:

Note that none of these are official. This is mostly because EA doesn't care about fixing the game, though. I've thoroughly tested all of these, and they all work fine. Hi-res patch is a bit buggy on small missions, but nothing too dramatic.

Scorpio9a's C&C95 & RA95 Windows XP and network play thipx32.dll patch:
http://www.understorm.net/thipx/
-Allows network & online play on XP
-Loads better than the official thipx32.dll XP patch

VK's C&C95 1.05 patch:
http://forums.revora.net/index.php?showtopic=54009
-Makes the game run natively on XP (without needing compatibility mode)
-Fixes one of the most notorious crashes in the game, which happened when the player's units come near an edge of the map.

Nyerguds & Komfr's C&C95 High-resolution patch:
http://planetcnc.gamespy.com/View.ph...n.Detail&id=85
-Allows you to play the game in higher resolutions.
-[screenshot]

At the moment, stick with 1024x768. It's the most reliable one. The others might not work on all graphics cards.

Komfr's C&C95 Stealth Crash patch:
http://nyerguds.arsaneus-design.com/...ealthpatch.zip (needs this tool to work. Read spatch.txt for more info)
-fixes a notorous bug that crashes the game if a stealth animation is played in the lower right side of the screen


I still need tot make a decent all-in-one patch, in which I can put some more crash fixes I got on my hard disk, and where you can select the resolution form a nice graphical program much like CCSETUP.EXE

Last edited by Nyerguds; 23-11-2010 at 11:11 PM.
Nyerguds is offline                         Send a private message to Nyerguds
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:04 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

the black screen is due to your gpu driver/ direct x incompatibility. that can happen at any game with lower resolution

btw.. you could at least thank david in the game discussion..
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:10 PM   #4
Nyerguds
Game freak
 
Nyerguds's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium
Posts: 122
Default

Actually, this can be downloaded from pretty much every big game files site...

And I dunno what causes the black screen error (except the very uncommon standard res of 640x400), but I know that fixes it
Nyerguds is offline                         Send a private message to Nyerguds
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:16 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

its in the principe=)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 07:40 PM   #6
Nyerguds
Game freak
 
Nyerguds's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium
Posts: 122
Default

Honestly not like I still need it.
I got this game in my room in about 10 different forms... console versions included.
Nyerguds is offline                         Send a private message to Nyerguds
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:47 PM   #7
Dave
Mandolin & Spaghetti Soldier
 
Dave's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Emilia, Italy
Posts: 8,518
Default

Command & Conquer Cover Operation material isn't Abandonware.
I think you should hide the link.
__________________

Last edited by Dave; 03-01-2008 at 09:04 PM.
Dave is offline                         Send a private message to Dave
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 10:04 PM   #8
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Part of a game's data (maps, sprites, sound FX, music, cutscenes, models and textures) is just as much subject to the copyright laws as the whole thing.
Sorry, Nyerguds, but that link is a no-no.
If you could produce a version of that that does not contain the data (units and maps, primarily) from the Covert Operations expansion but allows playing custom scenarios, it would be fine (OK, still pushing the line a bit, but generally safe)
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 05:27 PM   #9
Nyerguds
Game freak
 
Nyerguds's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Buggenhout, Belgium
Posts: 122
Default

Right, sorry about that.
Anyway... The Covert Operations adds no units. It just adds a bunch of single player & multiplayer maps, a few songs, some videos, and an update of the hidden dinosaur campaign which WW stupidly forgot to add to their later 1.22 update.
(But IMO the update of the dino missions is still just an update, and not part of the Covert Ops. After all, it's perfectly possible to play the hidden missions without the expansion pack after updating to version 1.22)

As for the Covert Ops media... the music is all new, but all videos that are in the Covert Ops also exist in some form embedded in the normal C&C videos, either shown projected on a wall during mission briefings, or with minor changes like the side logos & unit camo colours switched. So I dunno if that really counts as new material...

To actually enable the New Missions list, all that needs to be done is adding a file called EXPAND.DAT in the C&C directory (or one of the game's .mix archives in the directory)
The problem is that the game crashes if the list of New Missions has no scenarios in it.

I could kinda compromise by just adding the 2 missions that were in the public demo of the Covert Ops that WW released, but then there's still one problem left: the DOS version of C&C can play New Missions with the GDI or Nod CD, as long as you don't actually have the Covert Ops installed. This was done to allow people to play the demo missions.
However, the Win95 version doesn't have this exception.

What I could do is make a pseudo-"Covert Operations" ISO created with of nothing but files from the original 2 CDs, the updated dino missions and the Covert Ops demo.

It would remove the 'offensive' Covert Ops material, but still give a working New Missions list, with even some missions in it. Would that be OK?


oh, and David86: The Covert Ops definitely is abandonware. Not freeware, probably not legal to share, but definitely abandoned. I doubt they really realize it exists, otherwise I don't see why they didn't release it with the other 2 ISOs.

Last edited by Nyerguds; 07-01-2008 at 03:49 PM.
Nyerguds is offline                         Send a private message to Nyerguds
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 11:30 PM   #10
Dave
Mandolin & Spaghetti Soldier
 
Dave's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Emilia, Italy
Posts: 8,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyerguds View Post
oh, and David86: The Covert Ops definitely is abandonware. Not freeware, probably not legal to share, but definitely abandoned.
It would be nice, but as far as I know it's still sold.
Do you have some evidence?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyerguds View Post
I doubt they really realize it exists, otherwise I don't see why they didn't release it with the other 2 ISOs.
Maybe they are going to release it soon...(next anniversary?)
__________________
Dave is offline                         Send a private message to Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command & Conquer Tom Henrik Games Discussion 384 18-02-2017 06:49 PM
Command and Conquer - Special Gold Edition Omuletzu Approved Requests 36 03-08-2009 06:57 AM
Command And Conquer Gold Edition Kestral Gaming Zone 2 20-03-2005 04:59 AM
Command And Conquer 1 Help sm0kiE Troubleshooting 3 06-02-2005 08:10 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:27 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.