Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-09-2006, 07:32 PM   #11
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum
 
Mighty Midget's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Krakeroy, Norway
Posts: 3,014
Default

Like Monk said, the best you could hope for I guess, is a boot disc (available here at Ab) that boot your computer into dos, from where you would have to start your games manually.

Of course, that disc would need some trimming before you can take full advantage of your dos computer.

About dos commands, search google for 'dos introduction'. There's a great site for the dos newbie like the most of us.
__________________
Je Suis Charlie
Mighty Midget is offline                         Send a private message to Mighty Midget
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 08:32 AM   #12
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Quote:
well what i wanted to do was put in a floppy that will allow me to boot a game.[/b]
Plug and Play generation, eh?

It doesn't work that way. Practically speaking, when you use a bootdisk you will end up with something not much different from DosBox.

I suggest that instead of pursuing this fool's errand further you take the advice and read up on using DosBox.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 11:52 AM   #13
Office_Monk
Game freak
 
Office_Monk's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Peer, Belgium
Posts: 149
Default

QUOTE(the_fifth_horseman @ Sep 27 2006, 10:32 AM) [snapback]257651[/snapback]
Quote:
Quote:
well what i wanted to do was put in a floppy that will allow me to boot a game.[/b]
Plug and Play generation, eh?

It doesn't work that way. Practically speaking, when you use a bootdisk you will end up with something not much different from DosBox.

I suggest that instead of pursuing this fool's errand further you take the advice and read up on using DosBox.
[/b]
Booters were Plug 'N' Play way before Billy-boy thought of it
Office_Monk is offline                         Send a private message to Office_Monk
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2006, 02:30 PM   #14
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

dosbox supports booters as well

and


that was the last off topic in this thread.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2006, 11:08 AM   #15
BUFFY
Game freak

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 107
Default

QUOTE(bizarrejpeg @ Sep 25 2006, 12:40 AM) [snapback]257088[/snapback]
Quote:

I have like 10 floppys and the games I want to play, mainly one.
http://www.abandonia.com/games/en/90...syofWizard.htm

I can basically get any program, currently im using Windows XP and I would like to know how to make a disc to boot the video game when I restart.
[/b]
Hi there,

Are you sure you need the floopy disk?

1) I downloaded the game, firstly I ran the setup.exe file and selected:
2) 3. Sounds Blaster, 1. Sound Blaster, then any key to close window
3) Install DosBox, the easy way can be found here: Easy way to use DosBox
4) Then dragged the HEXX.BAT file onto the DOSBox.exe file (Alt-Enter to make it Fullscreen)

And that opened the game up fine, if this is not what you are after then you may need to look at the guides mentioned above, but this played the game OK on my WinXP computer.

HTH
BUFFY is offline                         Send a private message to BUFFY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your Boot Disk H0FFI3 Troubleshooting 7 31-07-2007 11:17 PM
Boot Disk Svetik Blah, blah, blah... 1 22-12-2006 07:57 PM
How Do I Play These Games Using Dosbox charyou Troubleshooting 18 07-09-2006 03:36 AM
I Have No Clue How To Use Boot Disk 1337Elite Troubleshooting 20 08-03-2006 01:34 PM
Problem With The Boot Disk RazTK Troubleshooting 0 01-09-2005 02:44 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 05:47 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.