Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 24-04-2008, 11:20 PM   #1
weavka32
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default can't get ascendancy to play on dosbox.

I got help here about a year ago for this problem. A guy from Zagrab solved it for me.

I installed Ascendancy and dosbox, but I can't get it to mount the e drive (cdrom) to my c drive which is where I have mounted the c:\ascend.
weavka32 is offline                         Send a private message to weavka32
Old 24-04-2008, 11:34 PM   #2
weavka32
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Every time I try to mount the drive I get a failure.

mount c c:\ascend

drive C mounted as local directory c:\ascend\

mount c e:\ -t cdrom

MSCDEX
Drive c already mounted with local directory C:\ascend\


so I try

mount d e:\ -t cdrom
Drive d is mounted as CDROM e:\

mount d c:\ascend\ -t cdrom

MSCDEX failure Drive letters of multi cdrom drives must be continious
weavka32 is offline                         Send a private message to weavka32
Old 24-04-2008, 11:52 PM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

It is quite normal that it doesn't work. What exactly are you trying to do? I'll type it in for you.

You could also simply try to drop the c in
Quote:
mount c e:\ -t cdrom
and write instead
Quote:
mount e -t cdrom
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Old 25-04-2008, 12:36 AM   #4
weavka32
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Ok, my cd drive is e:

Ascend is saved on my c: as C:\ascend

So I have to mount a hard drive (c and then it has to read it off the CD.

I had it written down but lost it in my last move, I know it isn't alot of typing but I can't remember after I mount the e drive how to get the C: to read from it. If I mount c c:\ascend it will load and up the logic factory info and then it asks for the cd to be inserted.
weavka32 is offline                         Send a private message to weavka32
Old 25-04-2008, 01:41 AM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Well then, I think your mistake is that you forgot the double coma. You should write "mount d: c:\ascend -t cdrom" instead.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Old 25-04-2008, 10:28 AM   #6
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Not very clear all .... do you have the CD weavka32?
If yes, those are -(probably)- your mount lines:
mount c c:\ascend
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
c:
cd ascend

That puts you in c:\ascend with CDDrive E mounted as D:
However, if you installed the game from CD you must use the same drive letter as the one you used when installing the game.
Example, if you used E your CD mount becomes:
mount e e:\ -t cdrom
We can't know what letters you used.
In the worst case, start over from scratch and reinstall the game.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox and Ascendancy maniclurker Troubleshooting 2 19-02-2009 07:29 PM
I Would Like To Play Some Games But I A: Suck At Dosbox And B: Have No Clue How To Make A Boot Disk For Win Xp. bizarrejpeg Troubleshooting 14 16-10-2006 11:08 AM
How Do I Play These Games Using Dosbox charyou Troubleshooting 18 07-09-2006 03:36 AM
Dosbox The Easy Way To Play mouse31e Troubleshooting 63 03-06-2005 09:22 PM
DOSBox, The easy way to play BUFFY Troubleshooting Archive 1 24-01-2005 09:16 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:57 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.