Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 01:49 AM   #1
Juanca
Eternal Player
 
Juanca's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, United States
Posts: 238
Default graphics card have it or not?

I have a friend who's buying a new machine.
Intel original mother board (945), cpu intel core 2 duo, 2gb of ram...

He will use it mostly to play games like warcraft 3, games like the ones at abandonia, watch some videos, movies, home work, etc (nothing very different than a home's computer)

His question, which i could not answer is if he needs a 256mb graphic card (nvidia or ATI) or if it is enough with the graphic card built in the mother board (i think it is 64mb)?
__________________
Abandonia is the best!!!:thumbs:
"There work was play
And play the only work"
Sri Aurobindo
Juanca is offline                         Send a private message to Juanca
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 02:31 AM   #2
ianfreddie07
wat
 
ianfreddie07's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland, United States
Posts: 357
Default

Do not play with integrated graphics chips. They're too slow. Really really slow. What OS will he be planning to get? XP or Vista?
ianfreddie07 is offline                         Send a private message to ianfreddie07
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:36 AM   #3
Juanca
Eternal Player
 
Juanca's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, United States
Posts: 238
Default

he is planning to use windows xp
__________________
Abandonia is the best!!!:thumbs:
"There work was play
And play the only work"
Sri Aurobindo
Juanca is offline                         Send a private message to Juanca
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 04:40 AM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Integrated chips are never good for gaming. Coma.

It's only good if you have nothing else, as it's still better than nothing. But any serious computer user will upgrade to a real hardware as soon as they can.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:38 AM   #5
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

The amount of available memory for the onboard vidchip can be altered in the BIOS (so called 'shared' memory).
That said, I agree with the others, onboard vidchips sucks, really.

If he's not interested in the latest vidgames any 128/256MB vidcard will do.
But on a new PC I would advise at least a 256MB card.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:41 AM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

I just checked, and the graphic card I have on this computer is 128 megs. However, I purchased this computer 4 years ago...

I'd advise with 256 megs minimum. 512 if he can.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:06 AM   #7
Juanca
Eternal Player
 
Juanca's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Phoenix, United States
Posts: 238
Default

thanks all this clear doubts. he is going for a 256mb nvidia graphic card.
thanks again
__________________
Abandonia is the best!!!:thumbs:
"There work was play
And play the only work"
Sri Aurobindo
Juanca is offline                         Send a private message to Juanca
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:26 AM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juanca View Post
thanks all this clear doubts. he is going for a 256mb nvidia graphic card.
thanks again
which one?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:23 PM   #9
Blood-Pigggy
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Blood-Pigggy's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wilmington, United States
Posts: 2,660
Default

Did you guys really not read the OP?

He said he'd use it to mostly play Warcraft 3 and abandonware. I don't know about you, but the integrated chipsets today can play those obviously.

Is he really going to play ANY newer games? Otherwise it's a waste of money, my graphics card is almost never taxed on my PC, it's a 256 ATI Radeon and its existence is entirely pointless.
__________________
Youtube Channel -
http://youtube.com/user/BloodPigggy

My Site -
http://sites.google.com/site/eyenixon
Blood-Pigggy is offline                         Send a private message to Blood-Pigggy
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:57 PM   #10
Rogue
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Rogue's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Afrim, Albania
Posts: 2,113
Default

I second Blood-Pigggy's opinion.

Integrated card should do well with Warcraft 3 and games on Abandonia.

I personally have only one computer with integrated video card, but as that computer is actually a server (without monitor ) that probably doesn't count. :laugh:
Rogue is offline                         Send a private message to Rogue
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seeking MMORPGS with low graphics card reqs. island Gaming Zone 45 17-07-2009 04:53 AM
Graphics Card Menasor Tech Corner 3 12-02-2006 06:14 AM
Tv Card Sameeralord Tech Corner 18 28-07-2005 12:18 PM
What Graphics Card Do You Prefer? Apocalypse Dude Tech Corner 11 23-07-2005 06:58 AM
Sim City 2000 - Not Recognizing Graphics Card Guest_Neil Troubleshooting 1 13-03-2005 05:05 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:13 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.