Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2007, 01:58 AM   #1
Guest
Guest
Default

Hi!

I downloaded DOSBox today so i could play Raiden And I installed DOSBox as well, and I found a link to a tutorial for this program, and everything has gone peachy up until the section where the game wants me to install Norton Commander. I am currently at:

"""***"""
****
That helped us a little with running the modified config, but do we want to stay with the command line forever? Hell no, especially when there is a better way to view your games directory in DOSBox.

It's called Norton Commander and is a file manager. If you don't know what a file manager is, a simple way of describing it is a sort of frontend for DOS (and obviously it also works for DOSBox).
The big advantage of it is that unlike some of the dedicated DOSBox frontends, it does not cause any additional problems in running the games. And of course it's pretty damn cool, too.

Go to Abandonia's programs page and download Norton Commander. Extract it to some subdirectory of your games dir - in our example, this will be C:\Oldgames\NCInst.

Now let's run DOSBox again. As you may have noticed, you didn't have to mount your games directory or change to the C drive - that is because of our prior addition to the [autoexec] section of the config file.

Now let's change to the directory where you unpacked the installer of Norton Commander and install it already:

CD ncinst
install

(The CD or chdir dommand tells DOSBox to change to a given directory - remember that for the future)

****
"""***"""
**
*

As you can see from the bold part of the quote, this is my problem. Im at the command C:\CD ncinst which went fine, and then im supposed to type install, but when i type install, I get the prompt "Illegal Command: install."


Does anyone have any clue what im doing wrong??? I thought the tutorial was clear as day until I saw this part
                       
Old 03-08-2007, 11:15 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Are you sure you unpacked the Norton Commander archive in that directory?
Please run dir /p to see if there are any files in it.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Old 03-08-2007, 02:34 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

you actually dont need to use total commander. you could use commands
CD- changes directory (and "cd .." goes up) DIR- lists all the files in a directory (or you can check it in windows explorer)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 03-08-2007, 03:25 PM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Of course.
However, I still advise NC as a more user-friendly solution.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Old 03-08-2007, 03:41 PM   #5
Guest
Guest
Default

okay... heres exactly what i did.

My "oldgames" file is called dosprog so what i have is
C:\dosprog\
Under that file i have a few files (for some games i want, but haven't installed yet) one of those files includes
C:\dosprog\NCInst
In this file I originally tried dumping the contents of nc55en (opened the archive and extracted the files to NCInst) and that didn't work, then i tried deleting those files, and putting the archive into NCInst, and still no luck.
I am getting the CD NCInst command to work, not the install command..
                       
Old 03-08-2007, 03:45 PM   #6
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

so you do have directory 'ncinst' in the 'dosprog' and when you type 'cd c:\dosprog\ncinsg' it doesnt work? o_O
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 03-08-2007, 03:50 PM   #7
Guest
Guest
Default

No, what I said is I got the command
C:\dosprog\ncinst
to work. It isn't letting me install Norton Commander
                       
Old 03-08-2007, 03:51 PM   #8
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

and did you do what horseman told you to do? check whether there ais install.exe in the files?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 03-08-2007, 03:56 PM   #9
Guest
Guest
Default

Heres what i got when I did /p and I have no clue what any of this means

"""
C:\NCINST>dir /p
Directory of C:\NCINST\
. 03-08-2007 8:37
. . 02-08-2007 21:07
NC55EN ZIP 2,905,286 02-08-2007 18:43
1 File(s) 2,905,286 Bytes
2 Dir(s) 110,540,800 Bytes Free
"""
                       
Old 03-08-2007, 03:57 PM   #10
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

you forgot to unzip the file, buddy
so..err, unzip it (you can also do it in windows)
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I need a Java tutorial... Fubb Programming 12 13-04-2009 10:26 AM
Painless Ftp Tutorial The Fifth Horseman Old News 10 07-08-2007 09:55 AM
Help With The Dosbox Tutorial. gamebounty Tech Corner 28 21-02-2006 04:52 PM
Coloring Tutorial Himmler Music, Art, Movies 4 19-08-2005 03:43 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:59 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.