Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2004, 08:28 PM   #21
Stroggy
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cambridge, England
Posts: 1,342
Default

welcome to the forum

nope
i've tried everything but I haven't had any luck
and with the exams approaching I'm not thinking clearly
i'm sure there is a perfectly logical answer to this.
but honestly, i'm quite close to giving up
Stroggy is offline                         Send a private message to Stroggy
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:30 PM   #22
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

Welcome to the Forum, jello.

Yes this is the correct place for your question.

As for your problem, you do not have to install the game, in order to play it. Just type "star" in the Dos prompt. If you try to install the game it simply copies the exact same files to another directory. The reason the install program is asking for disk 1 is that you probably have crossed out the speech pack. This feature does not exist on the english version.

Keep in mind that this is a German remake of a game in English. Germans, in particular, are not good translators. (Watch out for the occasional mistranslations in the game). And there are very few germans who speak English. That is the reason why speech is not included.

The option is only left in the install program. They probably forgot to remove it.

Hope this has helped you a bit.
(Remember to download the manual and map too).
(Also it took me some time to make them :wink: )
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:35 PM   #23
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default

Weird, really.... I tried running the game on disk C, D, E, tried running it from a long directory name.... just can't seem to get that error

When does the error appear exactly?
Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2004, 08:36 PM   #24
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

By the way.

The first game in the Trilogy (Blade of Destiny) is on the way. It is all up to Kosta now. He has all the files. I would suggest you try to play this game before Star Trail.
This way you will also give me some time to try and find a solution to the apparant problems in Star Trail.

I do not have the manual for that game, but you really do not need it.
(The only difference between that manual and the one for Star Trail is the minimum requirements for character creation).
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 01:56 AM   #25
Anonymous
Guest
Default re Guru Meditation Error

Using either DosBox or a regular Dos Command Box in Win XP. I have the game files that I downloaded in a directory c:/Dosgames/Star. I change the directory into the Star Directory and type in Star. I then get the Guru Meditation Error in orange letters. If I type install instead of star, I get the message to pick A or B drive.

Wonder if it is just Win XP. Thanks for the help.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 07:17 AM   #26
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

I can't understand that Win XP should be the problem, since I use it. When I play the game, I use the DosBox version downloaded from this site.

That works for me. :?

You guys who have problems with red and orange text appearing, can you see or hear ANYTHING from the game? (Pictures, the intro video, music being played...) or do you get troubles immediatly after typing STAR.
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 09:59 AM   #27
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default

I have re-uploaded the game, this time with the installation program so all of you having trouble, re-download the game and install it from scratch. Hope that helps :?
Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 02:00 PM   #28
jello
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to jello Send a message via Yahoo to jello
Default

You guys are pretty cool for helping with this problem so fast. I really didn't expect you to answer for awhile.

The orange screen appears immediately after I type star to start the game. There is no sound or other screen or video, nothing but this black screen with orange letters that starts off "Star Trail Guru Meditation".

I will be downloading it again as you have suggested and will try again.

Thanks so much.
jello is offline                         Send a private message to jello
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 02:08 PM   #29
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

Yeah! We rock! 8)

No, but seriously... This site is all about having fun. And playing old games is fun. Not being able to play the game, however, is NOT! So we try to help everyone.

Besides, we do not want to have a game on the site that is unplayable. We try to avoid this as best we can. Therefore it is important that people, such as yourself, tells us about problems that you encounter.


I am also on the look-out for a new Star Trail on the net, so that we can try to change the files. Just in case it is the old file that has a problem.
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2004, 06:38 PM   #30
jello
Newbie

 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Send a message via ICQ to jello Send a message via Yahoo to jello
Default

Don't be modest, you guys really do rock. Thank you, thank you , thank you. I re downloaded the new file as suggested and installed and it works. I haven't really got into the game, but I was so excited that it worked - sound and everything, that I wanted to let you know, so you would know that it worked. And did I mention - Thank you. :P
jello is offline                         Send a private message to jello
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realms of Arkania 2: Star trail knas Gaming Zone 1 22-07-2008 02:41 AM
Realms Of Arkania - Star Trail Question Guest_aleks Troubleshooting 1 05-03-2006 06:39 AM
Realms Of Arkania: Star Trail Problem Backfish Gaming Zone 23 13-01-2006 03:07 PM
Realms Of Arkania - Star Trail knu´fuzzle Troubleshooting 2 04-09-2005 05:47 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:56 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.