Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2006, 04:18 PM   #1
Ch3wi3
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 1
Default

So today I found my old CD case... with day of the tentacle in it

So I fired up and the sounds were all messed up...
The music was gone and some sounds were cut off

After playing a while with the configuration I got the music and most sounds to work but I still have problem with the voice, I hear about a couple of words but it gets cut off randomly...

To get the voice working it says I need a SB or compatible sound card... I know I have one but I dont know what port, IRQ and buffer to put it

Can anyone help me?
Ch3wi3 is offline                         Send a private message to Ch3wi3
Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2006, 06:17 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

First, what platforum are you running the game on? Genuine DOS system, Windows (which one), an emulator of some kind (like DosBox or VDMSound)?

Second, the symptoms you describe are similar to what I have experienced very recently as a result of incorrect IRQ settings in the game's setup program.

Most likely you have not configured the soundcard properly.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2006, 05:43 AM   #3
bernard
Guest
Default

I've got the same problem on the same game! i'm trying to run it on a dell w/ windows xp...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2006, 01:45 PM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Try DosBox or VDMSound.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2006, 09:36 PM   #5
Bacchos
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gottingen, Germany
Posts: 4
Default

The best way to get old LucasArts-Games running is using ScummVM. So I got it working. For a link just look at the abandonia-utilities.
Bacchos is offline                         Send a private message to Bacchos
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Msdos Sound Problems Curudan Troubleshooting 5 06-12-2005 06:07 AM
Dos Sound Problems skittles04 Troubleshooting 1 02-11-2005 03:52 PM
Help With Sound Problems Anovich Troubleshooting 6 11-03-2005 02:21 AM
*sigh* Day Of The Tentacle Problems ahman General compatibility fixes 2 13-01-2005 11:24 AM
Sound Problems BrokenAngel Troubleshooting 14 28-07-2004 12:51 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:50 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.