Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-03-2006, 09:13 AM   #1
Bobbin Threadbare
Not quite dead.
 
Bobbin Threadbare's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,127
Unhappy

When I log in LimeWire opens. However, I have set it not to. Then when I close it after a few seconds it starts up again. The only way to stop this "chain of terror" Is to kill it while on the loading screen. ("initailizing p2p illegalness" and such). Is there a way to stop it?
__________________
Bobbin Threadbare is offline                         Send a private message to Bobbin Threadbare
Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006, 02:34 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Check your registry.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006, 03:39 PM   #3
Sean
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Sean's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wimbledon, England
Posts: 1,624
Default

Stupid question.

Tried reinstalling?
__________________




Sean is offline                         Send a private message to Sean
Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2006, 03:41 PM   #4
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

search for "Run" with checked "keys" checkbox in regedit <more times>
delete stuff you dont want
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 05:07 AM   #5
Bobbin Threadbare
Not quite dead.
 
Bobbin Threadbare's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,127
Unhappy

Hrm, that doesn't seem to work. However when I logged in it said "onoes.exe" had an error. I DLed something from limewore that contained this file. Think it's a virus?

.:EDIT:.
Apparently it is.

(http://virusscan.jotti.org/)
Service
File: onoes.exe
Status:
INFECTED/MALWARE (Note: this file has been scanned before. Therefore, this file's scan results will not be stored in the database)
MD5 67bbd86d8c9970dcacea2dd611a37022
Packers detected:
SDPROTECTOR

Scanner results
AntiVir - Found Worm/RBot.174080
ArcaVir - Found Trojan.Rbot.Gen.173218.MX
Avast - Found Win32:Rbot-BEL
AVG Antivirus - Found IRC/BackDoor.SdBot.VJZ
BitDefender - Found Backdoor.Rbot.CMN
ClamAV - Found nothing
Dr.Web - Found Win32.HLLW.MyBot
F-Prot Antivirus - Found nothing
Fortinet - Found W32/AgoBot.U!bdr
Kaspersky Anti-Virus - Found Backdoor.Win32.Rbot.gen
NOD32 - Found Win32/Rbot
Norman Virus Control - Found W32/Spybot.AGXH
UNA - Found nothing
VirusBuster - Found Worm.RBot.EFQ
VBA32 - Found Backdoor.Win32.Rbot.gen


Funnily enough, I use F-Prot.

.:EDIT2:.
Apparently it's called the "Win32.P2P-Worm.Alcan.a"

.:EDIT3:.
I may have killed it. If anyone gets it, use this: Brute Force
__________________
Bobbin Threadbare is offline                         Send a private message to Bobbin Threadbare
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 10:21 AM   #6
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

if you cant handle regedit.exe, have you tried msconfig?
its easy to use even for beginner users, just some checkboxes
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 10:26 AM   #7
Bobbin Threadbare
Not quite dead.
 
Bobbin Threadbare's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,127
Unhappy

I got rid of it.
__________________
Bobbin Threadbare is offline                         Send a private message to Bobbin Threadbare
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 11:05 AM   #8
Lucullus
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hobro, Denmark
Posts: 194
Default

Bobbin... have you considered swapping to an antivirus program that works? Like Avast (free) and AVG (free)??
And of course stock up your pc with Adaware SE, Spybot S&D and Spywareblaster
These programs are the final defense against the threat from Spyware and Adware.
I use AVAST and have had a lot of virus prevented from messing with my pc so I strongly suggest changing that...
Lucullus is offline                         Send a private message to Lucullus
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 05:39 PM   #9
chickenman
Hero Gamer

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 417
Default

Indeed use Avast, it's web shield is great !!, and scan everything you download.
chickenman is offline                         Send a private message to chickenman
Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2006, 09:29 PM   #10
Lucullus
Super Freak

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hobro, Denmark
Posts: 194
Default

Avast also updates regularly without you needing to take any action. It has shields for P2P, network and mail as well. It's worth it and free
But I have heard on other boards that some prefer AVG, so it's up to you to find the one you like
Lucullus is offline                         Send a private message to Lucullus
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Password retrieval on the fritz The Fifth Horseman Old News 2 13-04-2008 02:53 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:42 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.