Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 02:00 PM   #1
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default Sim City 3000 running slow

So I decided to install SC3000 (the normal version) and everything runs fine but the time is going extremely slowly (it takes a hell of a lot time for a year to pass even on the fastest speed). And also sometimes buildings and other artifacts load very slowly. The game is running slower than it used to on my p1 133 mhz, and more slowly than SC4 runs on my present configuration.

My PC is amd xp2000+, 256 MB RAM, GF4MX440. I am certain that these components are more than enough to run the game at pleasant speed.
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:33 PM   #2
DeathDude
Caught Somewhere In Time
 
DeathDude's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 803
Default

I remember that happened to me back in the day on my old p2 400 system, for some odd reason, what os are you running?

You might have to fiddle around with your directx setting in the configuration panel, and modify your sound output to basic and if that doesn't work downgrade some of your display options, for some reason this oddly did the trick for me.
__________________

http://www.last.fm/user/DeathDude/ Upcoming Concerts will be attending 5/10/08: Dream Theater, 5/12/08: Gigantour, 5/16/08: Nightwish, 5/27/08: Rush, 6/5/08 and 6/6/08: Iron Maiden!!, 7/27/08: Judas Priest
DeathDude is offline                         Send a private message to DeathDude
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:51 PM   #3
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

some old games with sound run slowly for me as well, try disabling it and see if that helps. at least you will know whether it's the problem.

and same question as death dude, you are running under pure xp right?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:52 PM   #4
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

I'm running windows xp, I'll try playing with the options a bit.

P.S. Music is the best part of SC3000.
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 04:16 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

no, i meant, if it's in the music we will know it's in the music and then maybe make some stuff up to fix the music bug. if it's not, then something else
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 04:22 PM   #6
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Try using VDMSound. If you have a sound issue, it should do the trick unless it's a hardware problem.

Alternatively, you could try running the game in DOSBox.

If it's a Windows version... Then you don't need to search very far to find the problem.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:04 PM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

256 MB of RAM is way low for Windows XP. Your machine must be making heavy use of the pagefile, which might explain the speed issues.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:18 PM   #8
Tulac
Union Leader



 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Posts: 1,867
Default

Dude the game worked on my 48MB RAM PC, and SC4 which is way more complex works better on this one. The game runs perfectly smooth but the time isn't flowing as fast as it's suppose to, anyone who plays SC will understand this.
Tulac is offline                         Send a private message to Tulac
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:35 PM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You manage to play SC4 with only 256 megs of ram with viable speed?

I just plain don't beleive you...
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 08:15 PM   #10
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

what's so unbelievable about it o_O
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why The Hell Is It Running So Slow? The Fifth Horseman Tech Corner 22 19-07-2005 02:09 AM
Running Sim City 2000 On Xp pr Troubleshooting 6 06-02-2005 02:54 AM
Dosbox Games Are Running Slow! fezzador Troubleshooting 16 12-01-2005 08:53 PM
Help Running Sim City 2000 bcorz Troubleshooting 4 06-01-2005 03:05 AM
Crusader Running Slow Milos Troubleshooting 6 10-11-2004 11:51 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:17 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.