Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16-07-2005, 08:13 PM   #1
BlueFox
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

Ok, this game isn't on abandonia, but I want to fix this problem.

I have my Screamer disk, and the computer finds the CD fine. I install the game through DOSBOX, and run it. Then there's the intro. It's really slow for some reason, even though it runs pefect through XP Command Prompt, apart from sound, as my sound card isnt compatibale, being a lot newer. So ANyway, I get the game going, then after i hit Esc/ENter/Whatever to skip the intro thing, I get a message saying Insert Screamer Disk.

It's in the drive, the drive letter is correct in all the config files, but it just refuses to see it there.

Can anyone help?
BlueFox is offline                         Send a private message to BlueFox
Old 16-07-2005, 08:26 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

To set up a CD rom in DOSBox, you need to add the tag -t CDROM.

For example; mount d d:\ -t cdrom

For more informations, read your readme.txt which come with DOSBox or read the Newbie Guide to DOSBox.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Old 16-07-2005, 08:28 PM   #3
BlueFox
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

How could I install it through dosbox if i didnt know how to set up a cdrom drive?

I know how to work the basics of dosbox, its just a pricky game...
BlueFox is offline                         Send a private message to BlueFox
Old 16-07-2005, 09:02 PM   #4
efthimios
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 957
Default

You can try with D fend?
efthimios is offline                         Send a private message to efthimios
Old 16-07-2005, 09:31 PM   #5
Koen
Game Wizzard
 
Koen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nootdorp, Netherlands
Posts: 226
Default

recommended system req's were a 486 66 mhz or above if I remember well for screamer... Dunno what system you're running, but I doubt if it will run in dosbox with the standard settings. Probably must set the emulation speed higher.
Koen is offline                         Send a private message to Koen
Old 16-07-2005, 09:44 PM   #6
BlueFox
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

Its not that im worried about.

I have a 2.06ghz pc. and yes its probably the emulationspeed needs tweaked, i can sort that after i get the friggin game to run ><
BlueFox is offline                         Send a private message to BlueFox
Old 16-07-2005, 11:28 PM   #7
Petter1979
Game freak

 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 117
Default

have you tried VDM Sound instead?

describtion from abandonia:

VDM Sound
VDMSound is a program that overcomes what has probably been the most exasperating limitation of DOS boxes since Windows NT - sound support. VDMSound emulates SoundBlaster compatible as well as Adlib music. In development are improvements to the existing joystick emulation, and possibly VESA support. It is a self-contained, 100% software emulation program that is completely independent of your audio hardware type and settings. VDMSound works with any soundcard, and will even work on computers that have no audio hardware at all. This software is highly recommended if your computer is too slow for running DOSBox as it will start most games in regular WinXP command prompt.

http://www.abandonia.com/utility/VDMSound%202.1.0.exe


all you need is to install it. then when finish, restart computer, find your screamer exe file(ie the file that starts the game), right click on it, and choose "run with VDMS"
Petter1979 is offline                         Send a private message to Petter1979
Old 17-07-2005, 03:32 PM   #8
BlueFox
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

Dudes, I dont care about the sound. All I want is for the game to find the CDROM cos the game refuses to find it, and it wont play if it cant find the cd! You're all missing the point.
BlueFox is offline                         Send a private message to BlueFox
Old 17-07-2005, 04:24 PM   #9
efthimios
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 957
Default

I will say it again, have you tried D-Fend? Use the wizard, it might be of help.
efthimios is offline                         Send a private message to efthimios
Old 06-08-2005, 06:17 PM   #10
BlueFox
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 12
Default

D fend hasnt done anything for me at all. Still got the problem, and it runs 10x slower in dosbox or d fend, regardless of frameskip or cpu cycles..

Uhhh...k.
BlueFox is offline                         Send a private message to BlueFox
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screamer 2 Count_Dragula Troubleshooting 8 19-06-2006 12:47 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:51 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.