Forums

Forums (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/index.php)
-   Community News & Feedback (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Quiz players - your motivation for playing? (http://www.abandonia.com/vbullet/showthread.php?t=33802)

Frostfell 16-02-2017 07:25 AM

Quiz players - your motivation for playing?

I realized today that I started playing the screenshot quiz on a daily basis almost 7 years ago. This week I managed to creep up 1 position on the leaderboards, but it took me almost a year to do this (I'm at #44 now, woohoo!). This made me wonder: who are my "opponents" :) ?

My main motivation for playing is a shot of much needed nostalgia everyday before I go to work. Sometimes screenshots bring back memories of happy times and sometimes this even makes me download and play a game in the evening. I even try out games I never played as a kid, because I like the artwork. Very motivational!

As I didn't play all the games on Abandonia when I was younger, I consider myself a mediocre quiz player: some weeks I only guess one screenshot (after 20 minutes of browsing through the database), some weeks I manage 5 out of 7.

So who are all you other players? How long have you been playing? Are the people with the higher rankings still playing actively? Would love to read your stories.

Smiling Spectre 16-02-2017 08:56 AM

My rating (and most of top 10, as far as I know) is not from quiz but rather from other activities. I am playing it sometimes, when I am know or can guess the answer, but nothing serious. :)

BranjoHello 16-02-2017 11:12 PM

I don't even think about it, I just play it. Habit, I guess. XD
Don't know all the answers and I never spent more than couple of minutes searching in case I'm not sure but I have a feeling that a similar game could lead me to the right answer. :)

Mystvan 16-02-2017 11:40 PM

My precious!... Piece of Eight! Gollum! Gollum!

Well, there are some reasons for this: