PDA

View Full Version : Heroes Of Might And Magic


Jonathan
19-10-2004, 02:29 PM
Hello everyone, I first off want to say I really like the site, it has an incredible selection of quality games, and everyone here seems really friendly.

I recently downloaded Heroes of Might and Magic and am running it on DosBox. The only problem is, the game is incredibly slow. I'm not much of a troubleshooter, has anyone had this problem or know of a solution for it?

Havell
19-10-2004, 02:35 PM
I think it's Ctrl+F11 to speed up DOSBox, check this:

Newbie's guide to DOSBox (http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/wiki/index.php?page=Basic+Setup+and+Installation+of+Dos Box)

Red Diablo
19-10-2004, 03:39 PM
Ctrl+F12 to speed up, Ctrl+F11 is for slowing down. :ok:

Jonathan
21-10-2004, 02:11 PM
Thanks for all your help guys... worked a bit... I still find myself waiting up to a minute or 2 everytime the computer takes it's turn. Oh well.

TheVoid
21-10-2004, 02:30 PM
A slow machine could be the cause....though, if you have an average or less machine with WinME or 98 installed, the game will work like a charm without needing DOSBox.

gregor
25-10-2004, 07:15 PM
Originally posted by Jonathan@Oct 21 2004, 01:11 PM
Thanks for all your help guys... worked a bit... I still find myself waiting up to a minute or 2 everytime the computer takes it's turn. Oh well.
also you can set teh speed computer is moving at in your options screen. set it to gallop (or any quick-pace horse move) it should spee dit up a bit.
but if you play on a big map sometimes he just takes his time no matter the processor speed.

also i am not sure you really need DOSbox to play this game at all. especially in WIN 98

Yamcha
25-10-2004, 07:19 PM
If you have Win98 you don't need DosBox.Well maybe for certain games,But I'm running all my games without DosBox and I have no prblems :ok:

RRS
08-12-2009, 10:43 AM
Regarding the CD audio error - Windows 95 version ("the game can't play 16-bit stereo audio so it will revert to 8-bit, blah blah, too long command: time range, something something") :

after few tests I'm betting this to be OS related problem. This error will occur if a certain event interrupts musical background (like picking up treasure), as the game wants to get back to a certain point of the audio track and fails. This seems to happen on Windows XP. It doesn't seem hardware related (the same drive plays fine if we switch to Win98), neither this is the case of "image mounted vs. CD in drive". :3:

The answer is to play in old Win98 to get CD audio.

Eagle of Fire
08-12-2009, 06:45 PM
The answer is, per usual, to use DOSBox with Windows XP. It been created for that.

And also, resurrecting 5 years old threads does not amuse me. <_<