Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30-03-2006, 02:24 AM   #1
DarkCrusader-Guest
Guest
Default

Hello,I've been trying to run Terminal Velocity in dos box and the game is running laggy and the sound is extremely choppy.Is there a way to have the game run fast and not have choppy sound? I've tried increasing the cycles ,but that makes the sound even worse.Oh and by the way Great site!
Thanks in advance,
-Andrew.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 02:37 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,884
Default

What is your computer specs?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 02:46 AM   #3
DarkCrusader
Guest
Default

1.10 GHz
372mb ram
100gb Hard Drive
32mb video card
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 03:31 AM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,884
Default

Which version of DOSBox are you using? I know some games had trouble with the 0.63 version and ran better in 0.62.

Other than that, I guess a dual boot or a boot disk would be your only other option. Or did you try VDMSound too?
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 08:21 AM   #5
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 1,798
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DarkCrusader@Mar 30 2006, 01:46 AM
1.10 GHz
372mb ram
100gb Hard Drive
32mb video card
That's even below the minimum requirements for DosBox, it needs at least 1.5Ghz processor to emulate smaller simplier games fast enough that they're playable. For Terminal Velocity you would need around a Pentium 4 with 2.8Ghz for it to run fluently.
You could install Windows 98 on a second partition or HD though and play the game(s) there, though. Or try VDMSound, downloadable through a link on this site.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 11:15 AM   #6
Icewolf
Il Lupone
 
Icewolf's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Teufelsbruck, Germany
Posts: 1,337
Send a message via ICQ to Icewolf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scatty@Mar 30 2006, 08:21 AM
That's even below the minimum requirements for DosBox, it needs at least 1.5Ghz processor to emulate smaller simplier games fast enough that they're playable. For Terminal Velocity you would need around a Pentium 4 with 2.8Ghz for it to run fluently.
:blink: I have 1 ghz, 512 ram, 40gb hdd, and it's working 1337-smooth 'n' perfect. I think it's about increasing the cycles. Press ctrl+f12 until you're at 10000-13000. You have to try what works best for what. k:
__________________
Icewolf is offline                         Send a private message to Icewolf
Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-2006, 11:33 AM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,223
Default

VDMSound is the solution here.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 09:28 PM   #8
DarkCrusader
Guest
Default

Increasing the cycles just makes the sound alot worse.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2006, 08:05 AM   #9
Gamefreak
Guest
Default

That's because your PC is far too slow for the game, as said above. Try VSMSound or Windows 98 solution.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 02:41 AM   #10
DarkCrusader
Guest
Default

I'm sorry about the topic necromancy,but my computer had a virus so I haven't been able to comment on any of this.I've increased cycles and edited the dos box config file so it runs smoother and faster.The fact that my hard drive was recently formatted may also have helped.Thanks all.
                       
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Escape Velocity Nova [SOLD] Anonymous Rejected requests 38 06-08-2010 01:41 PM
Terminal Velocity Kosta Games Discussion 34 11-06-2010 07:35 AM
Terminal Terror Sebatianos Games Discussion 13 23-04-2007 06:15 PM
Terminal Terror catchaserguns Troubleshooting 3 31-10-2006 10:08 AM
Velocity mrpeenut24 Cold Cases 2 08-01-2005 10:49 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 02:56 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.