Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-06-2008, 07:14 AM   #21
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,262
Default

Quote:
Is it best to keep these settings for all my games?
Yes, unless you're going to play a resource-intensive game (Quake, X-Com 3 etc), in which case it's better to change the resolution to the one the game natively uses, switch output to Overlay and disable the scalers and aspect correction.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 12:26 AM   #22
follz
Guest
Default

hi im having trouble.
i have installed dosbox and my game works absolutely fine on it.
but when ive played the game and want to save where i am...i press f5...i type in whatever im saving and then click save...it keeps saying at the top "the game has NOT been saved"
i dont know what to do with it...i really want to play the game but dont want to do it all in one day.
please help. thanks
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 09:13 AM   #23
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,262
Default

Check if in Windows the directory where you unpacked the game is set to Read Only.
If yes, uncheck that.

Also, remember you need full read/write/modify permissions in that directory - this might be a bit problematic in Windows Vista.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 10:27 AM   #24
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Indeed, if *IF* you're on Vista use a folder in
c:\users\your_name\ as virtual C:
There dosbox will have all the needed write rights.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 01:09 PM   #25
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by follz View Post
hi im having trouble.
i have installed dosbox and my game works absolutely fine on it.
but when ive played the game and want to save where i am...i press f5...i type in whatever im saving and then click save...it keeps saying at the top "the game has NOT been saved"
i dont know what to do with it...i really want to play the game but dont want to do it all in one day.
please help. thanks
For Fate Of Atlantis, you would be better using Scumm. Scumm was designed to play old adventure games like this.
__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 05:04 PM   #26
follz
Guest
Default

what do i do in order for dosbox to know where to store my saved files?
im new at working with dosbox.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 05:57 PM   #27
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

As you could read -(and obviously didn't understand, can happen)- it kinda depends of your OS and permissions how to solve some problems.
In fact it's pretty easy if *IF* we know your OS.
You hardly can expect us to give all the possible answers and tell you the correct mounts for all the possible OSses that are around on this big ball we call the Earth.

So be a nice chap and let us know what OS you're on ....
AKA: details please, and more details.

As can be:
Linux -(several)-, Win95, Win98, WinME, WinNT,Win2k,WinXP, Vista,Win 7, MacOS, whatever and whatnots ....... etcetera etcetera ....
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 06:31 PM   #28
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,481
Default

Follz, it's easier to use SCUMM for old adventure games.
__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 06:56 PM   #29
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,262
Default

Quote:
what do i do in order for dosbox to know where to store my saved files?
im new at working with dosbox.
DOS games typically store the save files in the directory the game runs from.
This is also true for Fate of Atlantis.
As long as you mount your games directory properly and have full read/write access to the directory you placed the game, there should not be any problems.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2009, 07:27 PM   #30
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frodo View Post
Follz, it's easier to use SCUMM for old adventure games.
ScummVM or dosbox doesn't matter, if the soft doesn't have write rights, the game won't save.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis Kosta Games Discussion 197 26-06-2017 01:22 AM
Atlantis - The Lost Tales [GoG] Stroggy Invalid Requests 43 09-01-2010 07:17 PM
Problem with Fate of Atlantis sound joe101 Troubleshooting 3 02-04-2009 03:01 PM
Indiana Jones and The Fate of Atlantis (Speech Pack) tomf Documentation / Extras 1 20-07-2005 07:05 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:46 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.