Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-06-2008, 03:53 AM   #11
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

QuickPost
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 03:57 AM   #12
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default



[img=http://img504.imageshack.us/img504/8959/atlantis000oq9.th.png]


Sorry for double posts, thought I could edit original. I'll also have to say that the bottom part of the screen, about 2-3 inches is black and I can't get to it with my mouse.
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 04:00 AM   #13
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default



[img=http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/3671/atlantis000wu9.th.png]
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 04:19 AM   #14
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Doesn't look like I know how to post good SS...

But anyway, I'll try to describe what it looks like. Basically, Sophia's face is a single blue dot, for her eye. IDK, Last Crusade looked better. Like I said, I can't really remember how it "used" to look.

Thanks for everyone's help. I'll probably be posting more about other games soon enough.
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 06:10 AM   #15
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little Big Small World
Posts: 1,812
Default

Maybe this will help. Open the file dosbox.conf with Notepad, under [render] change the aspect=false to aspect=true.
That will stretch the resolution to it's original size, if your graphics card supports it.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 07:03 AM   #16
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Well the aspect=true really messed it up. I went through the scale variables though and found some different looks, none all that much better though.

I can't imagine that my current card wouldn't be able to render the game nice, but maybe there is just some oddity because the game is so old.

I'll just play it through the way it is and see if other games look bad. I know Kyrandia looked pretty good, so I'll be back for that one, I'm sure.
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 08:53 AM   #17
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little Big Small World
Posts: 1,812
Default

Well, if you use the abovementioned hint again and additionally also set output=surface to output=ddraw under [sdl], that should fix the messed up graphics.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Old 17-06-2008, 10:00 AM   #18
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

Quote:
I can't imagine that my current card wouldn't be able to render the game nice, but maybe there is just some oddity because the game is so old.
It doesn't work this way. DOSBox only uses your graphics card to output the final image, not for all graphics.

The screenshots you've posted look pretty normal for this particular game to me (and Last Crusade didn't look better - run it and see for yourself)

Anyhow, try these settings:
[sdl]
fullresolution=1024x768
windowresolution=800x600
output=ddraw

[render]
aspect=true
scaler=hq3x
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 01:36 AM   #19
Machiavelli
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Horseman, that got the screen to be the right size, thanks, but the hq makes the colors look like oil paints. normal, 2x, and 3x look better.

Is it best to keep these settings for all my games? I plan on playing Kyrandia, King's Quest, and, of course, Monkey Island.
Machiavelli is offline                         Send a private message to Machiavelli
Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2008, 07:51 AM   #20
Scatty
Treasure hunter
 
Scatty's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Little Big Small World
Posts: 1,812
Default

I usually use the default normal2x, and that's enough for all games I play. Dunno what the others are there for, they're, as you said, looking like oil paint and not really improving the graphics.
Scatty is offline                         Send a private message to Scatty
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis Kosta Games Discussion 197 26-06-2017 02:22 AM
Atlantis - The Lost Tales [GoG] Stroggy Invalid Requests 43 09-01-2010 08:17 PM
Problem with Fate of Atlantis sound joe101 Troubleshooting 3 02-04-2009 04:01 PM
Indiana Jones and The Fate of Atlantis (Speech Pack) tomf Documentation / Extras 1 20-07-2005 08:05 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 04:34 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.