Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-10-2006, 05:21 PM   #1
terrormaster
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

hi all .

i finally did it i can work a little with dos box :brain: :brain:
i installed theme park 1 played it for a while and it works just fine
the only downside i got no sound or music and i cannot save the game plz help me

i also installed colonisation and that works even better i got sound music and i can save my progress so i must do something wrong with theme park


greets terrormaster
terrormaster is offline                         Send a private message to terrormaster
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 01:35 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

When running Theme Park, did you configure the game first?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 02:50 PM   #3
terrormaster
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

well i gonna type here everything i done with dosbox to make the game work so here it goes


start dosbox .

mount c c:\oldgames
c:dir

c:dir themepark
c:cd themepark
c:setup ( here i reach the sound and install setup )
( these settings i try to use )
sound= fx soundblaster
music= soundblaster fm
irq= 7
dma= 1
sound io port= 220
music to port= none ( i cannot change this )
install path= c:/theme.cd

instal files and save config ( i press it but nothing really happens )
save sound and language. config. only ( i press it but nothing really happens here 2 )
exit to dos ( ok )
c:
c:cd themepark
c:themepark\main ( and here starts theme park )

in the game i also cannot turn on music or sound effects
what can i done wrong ? other sound confog like no soundblasters ? plz help

greets terrormaster


terrormaster is offline                         Send a private message to terrormaster
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 03:05 PM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

Under default settings, DosBox emulates Sound Blaster 16. If you can't find that on the list of available options in the setup, tell me what other Sound Blaster types are present there.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 04:13 PM   #5
terrormaster
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

sound fx :soundblaster
soundblaster pro
soundblaster 16 asp
alib gold
microsoft 8
microsoft 16
pro audio spectrum 8
pro audio spectrum 16
sound master 2
soundblaster compatible

music :alib fm
alib gold fm
soundblaster fm
soundblaster pro fm
soundblaster 16 fm
soundblaster awe 32
wave blaster
general midi
roland mt32
pro audio spectrum fm
soundblaster compatible

i probaly know what your answer is try everything until you find it ? wright ?
but then it leaves me with the last question hou do i save my game
terrormaster is offline                         Send a private message to terrormaster
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 04:32 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,263
Default

You've got Sound Blaster 16 on both lists, try using that setting.
If that doesn't work, change soundcard emulation in DosBox.conf to Sound Blaster Pro 2 (sbpro2) and adjust the configuration accordingly. (more on dosbox.conf here).

As for saving the game... well, haven't played that one, so can't know for sure, but look around the menus. Often, the save/restore options use either a floppy or a computer for their icon.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2006, 05:34 PM   #7
terrormaster
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4
Default

hou could i be this smart :brain: hehehehe i found it hou i can save the game .
i created a map in the folder theme park named save .
and voila i can save my progress now :brain:

but the sound and music i am still working on it to make it work but i hope i get it soon cuz its been 2 long since i played this when i was a kid in those good old days :-)
terrormaster is offline                         Send a private message to terrormaster
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 04:56 AM   #8
Ultroman
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrormaster View Post
hou could i be this smart :brain: hehehehe i found it hou i can save the game .
i created a map in the folder theme park named save .
and voila i can save my progress now :brain:

but the sound and music i am still working on it to make it work but i hope i get it soon cuz its been 2 long since i played this when i was a kid in those good old days :-)
I've been battling the same thing myself, but I got it working. I'm using D-Fend btw. The problem was a stupid one. The standard template for Theme Park has the "Activate Sound" checkbox unchecked (in DosBox terms, I think that means the "nosound" bool is set to "true"). I just checked it, and it worked.

The whole installation process is a bit weird, too, since it doesn't create a setup-file for you to execute, when you want to make changes to the sound settings. You have to run it from the CD every time.

Here's my working DosBox config file, generated by D-Fend:

# This DOSBox configuration file was automatically created by D-Fend Reloaded.
# Changes made to this file will NOT be transfered to D-Rend Reloaded profiles list.
# D-Fend Reloaded will delete this file from temp directory on program close.

# Command line used when starting DOSBox:
# -CONF "C:\Users\Jonas\AppData\Local\Temp\Theme Park.conf" -NOCONSOLE

# Config file for profile "Theme Park"

[sdl]
fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=0x0
windowresolution=original
output=overlay
autolock=false
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
usescancodes=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=C:\Users\Jonas\D-Fend Reloaded\mapper.txt

[dosbox]
machine=vesa_oldvbe
captures=C:\Users\Jonas\D-Fend Reloaded\Capture\Theme Park\
memsize=32

[render]
frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
core=dynamic
cputype=auto
cycles=fixed 10000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=44100
oplemu=default

[gus]
gus=true
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[dos]
xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=US

[joystick]
joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[autoexec]
@echo off
SET PATH=Z:\
keyb US 437
mount C "C:\Users\Jonas\D-FEND~1\VIRTUA~1"
imgmount E "E:\Gamez\Old Games\Theme Park\Theme Park.iso" -t cdrom
mount D "E:\Gamez\Old Games\Theme Park\"
echo.
D:
cd\
cd
Z:\config.com -securemode > nul
call THEME.BAT
Ultroman is offline                         Send a private message to Ultroman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Theme Park | Syndicate Rugz On site 13 28-09-2009 07:01 PM
Theme Park Mystery GraveDigger Approved Requests 6 11-08-2009 01:25 PM
Theme Park ziko Troubleshooting 3 30-12-2004 04:55 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:13 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.