Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Music, Art, Movies
Memberlist Forum Rules Today's Posts
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 26-07-2006, 05:18 PM   #1
Mighty Midget
Pox Vobiscum

This is a poem I wrote quite some time back. Thing is, I would like to have a melody to it and turn it into a song, sort of folk/ballad like, and I have no experience at writing such melodies. There are some problems here. The poem is 9 verses long, each consists of 4 short lines and no chorus. I have trouble finding a tune that will 'survive' through all the verses. One inspiration would be 'Stones' known from the Ultima games, that's inspiration but not copy. One idea was to have the first verse vocals only, then adding one instrument for each verse as the song gets more intense, peaking at the 8th verse before going vocals only and quiet at the 9th.
It's a dark poem, in a sort of E.A. Poe style, but there's a certain beauty in it too, I guess. So, a melody that captures both the moods in an old, (quasi)medieval style is really what I seek here. Even ideas are appreciated. (And no, It's not about suicide , but about breaking away from the past, how hard it can be, failure and dreaming of succeeding)

The Time has come, the End is nigh.
Time for me to say goodbye
Time to leave my Citadelle
Time to leave this Pit of Hell

The Years have slipped and I have slept.
Years of grief, Oh how I wept.
Years as slow as a dead heart
Years that kept us two apart

The Month of Janus saw me first
Months of Winter's frozen bursts
Months I longed to see the spring
Months of Legends, Knights and Kings

The Weeks I searched all through the marsh
Weeks I wandered through the harse
Weeks revealing emtpyness
Weeks that proved be merciless

The Days of Joy are memories
Days of Terror cover these
Days of Youth, of Brave and Strength
Days forgotten in their lenght

The Hour's near, I must be gone
Hours, I have never known the
Hours that I slept in fright
Hours till the morning light