Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 11:25 AM   #11
ScytheKnight
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Werribee, Australia
Posts: 15
Default

Man I remember playing the original Street Fighter II waaay back in the day and this definitely looks like the definitive version.

Only problem is that attack keys seem EXTREMELY unresponsive, I can maybe get 5-6 attacks in a total fight before my opponent mops the floor with my face.


So many things going on here don't even know where to begin looking for possible problems... running W7 64 bit, using the ISO version, have a very modern Logitech G15 gaming keyboard... if anyone has any ideas would be greatly appreciated, I had fun with SFII and SSF2T looks to be a blast.
ScytheKnight is offline                         Send a private message to ScytheKnight
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:54 PM   #12
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

You're probably better with the dreamcast emulator for this one ......
Just saying
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2010, 05:47 PM   #13
B-Wolf
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Border, United States
Posts: 33
Default

In my opinion, this game and One Must Fall 2097 are two of the best fighting games available for DOS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScytheKnight View Post
Man I remember playing the original Street Fighter II waaay back in the day and this definitely looks like the definitive version.

Only problem is that attack keys seem EXTREMELY unresponsive, I can maybe get 5-6 attacks in a total fight before my opponent mops the floor with my face.


So many things going on here don't even know where to begin looking for possible problems... running W7 64 bit, using the ISO version, have a very modern Logitech G15 gaming keyboard... if anyone has any ideas would be greatly appreciated, I had fun with SFII and SSF2T looks to be a blast.
I had this problem also. I would keep pressing the attack buttons only to have my character sit there and get attacked by the opponent. I finally fixed the problem by setting the cpu cycles in Dosbox to 10000.

Last edited by B-Wolf; 21-11-2010 at 03:25 AM.
B-Wolf is offline                         Send a private message to B-Wolf
Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-2010, 01:03 PM   #14
smittyphi
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chapin, United States
Posts: 5
Default

I remember playing these on the super nintendo. Can you use a directional pad for this game or is it strictly keyboard?
smittyphi is offline                         Send a private message to smittyphi
Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2010, 02:25 PM   #15
Batmanifestdestiny
Game freak
 
Batmanifestdestiny's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Norman, United States
Posts: 109
Default

So, every time I try to start it it says "Unable to Initialise Sound Driver - Please run "install" program..."

Then, when I install the game, it gives me some error about image.dat.

Is there something I'm doing wrong?
Batmanifestdestiny is offline                         Send a private message to Batmanifestdestiny
Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2010, 10:33 PM   #16
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

How strange, whatever I do the game runs, regular mount and CD blahblah or drag&drop, runs fine.
Dosbox 0.74, default conf file.

Are you sure you unzipped everything?
Game folder should look like this:
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2010, 08:08 PM   #17
Donugee
Newbie
 
Donugee's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

Kind of a dumb question, but how do I select a character?

I get to the select screen, but no matter what button I press it just selects Ryu [with the wrong coloring] and moves on to the game.
I looked at the readme file and it only has fighting controls, no menu selections.

So, how do i select what character I want, and with the right coloring?
Donugee is offline                         Send a private message to Donugee
Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2010, 10:15 AM   #18
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donugee View Post
Kind of a dumb question, but how do I select a character?

I get to the select screen, but no matter what button I press it just selects Ryu [with the wrong coloring] and moves on to the game.
I looked at the readme file and it only has fighting controls, no menu selections.

So, how do i select what character I want, and with the right coloring?
Press Enter to skip cutscene, Enter to select Arcade. Press either A, S or D to go into select mode. Press J or L to select speed and then A, S or D to confirm. Press J, K, L, I (directional keys) to go through the characters and select the one you want. Press A, S or D to confirm. Also be fast or it will default itself to the character currently selected.
__________________
Don't think about the probabilities. The smallest chance can take us a long way forward. It's not like we have anything else to lose.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2010, 03:06 PM   #19
Donugee
Newbie
 
Donugee's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ,
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TotalAnarchy View Post
Press Enter to skip cutscene, Enter to select Arcade. Press either A, S or D to go into select mode. Press J or L to select speed and then A, S or D to confirm. Press J, K, L, I (directional keys) to go through the characters and select the one you want. Press A, S or D to confirm. Also be fast or it will default itself to the character currently selected.
The readme said WASD were the directional buttons!

I hope the fighting controls were right in it...
Donugee is offline                         Send a private message to Donugee
Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2010, 03:07 PM   #20
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donugee View Post
The readme said WASD were the directional buttons!

I hope the fighting controls were right in it...
You can always modify the fighting controls when accessing Main Menu>Options.
__________________
Don't think about the probabilities. The smallest chance can take us a long way forward. It's not like we have anything else to lose.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Street Fighter II Turbo Professor Oak S 29 25-07-2016 06:46 PM
Super Street Fighter II Turbo Paco On site 1 16-06-2010 09:24 PM
Can't start Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo punisherzzz Troubleshooting 3 22-08-2009 08:24 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:46 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.