Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2004, 09:48 PM   #1
Fathamburger
Guest
Default

Okay, so I downloaded Master of Orion. Now, I unzip all the files, then put them in a folder. After which I try using the "install" the instal takes me to a place where it asks me to choose a directory to install into. I do so. After which it asks me to insert a disk into the drive? How do I get around this problem so I can start playing this game!
                       
Old 09-10-2004, 10:07 PM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You don't need to install the archived game, it comes out of the box (zip) already full. All you need to do is make sure your soundcard is properly installed within the game or use DosBOX.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Old 09-10-2004, 10:22 PM   #3
Fathamburger
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

Ahhhhhh, thankyou!

Now I just have to figure out how to increase the speed.
Fathamburger is offline                         Send a private message to Fathamburger
Old 09-10-2004, 10:37 PM   #4
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default

Use CTRL+F12 in DosBox to increase CPU cycles, that should help a lot. Also don't be affraid to use CTRL+F8 to increase framescip. It helps the performance dramatically, at barely noticable changes.
__________________


Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Old 10-10-2004, 04:45 PM   #5
Fathamburger
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for all the help.
Fathamburger is offline                         Send a private message to Fathamburger
Old 07-07-2009, 08:46 PM   #6
pawlo
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

I know the last post on this thread was in 2004... but I'm having a problem. I downloaded the zip file from abandonia and there doesn't seem to be any .exe .com or .bat files I can run in dosbox. The zip file contains 6 .lbx files a config.moo file I can't access from dosbox, and a system information file called DREAM. I'm only just starting to get familiar with dosbox commands and I can't think of anything more to do here. There's nothing for me to install or run it seems. I've downloaded it twice, and unzipped it twice to quell my initial suspicion that it did not extract completely. I'm running dosbox out of vista if it helps to know that.

Earlier posts on this thread just say to use dosbox... I'm afraid I need that to be a little more specific. I did check dir.exe dir.com and dir.bat and got nothing. Just typing install or play doesn't do it either.

I have a hunch that I'm not missing any files, there's just something I should do that I don't know how to. If someone could please help me out I would appreciate that enormously! I friggin' love this game!!
pawlo is offline                         Send a private message to pawlo
Old 07-07-2009, 09:11 PM   #7
pawlo
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Ah, never mind. Third time seems to be a charm, got all the files I need in the third download attempt. Odd thing to happen it seems, especially twice in a row...

Should work for me now.
pawlo is offline                         Send a private message to pawlo
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master of Orion Kosta Games Discussion 267 08-10-2019 12:36 AM
Master Of Orion Help Please! JasonC Troubleshooting 7 04-12-2006 08:12 AM
Master Of Orion evilded Gaming Zone 23 19-11-2004 01:37 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:23 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.