Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-02-2006, 05:44 PM   #1
galarion
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

Hello guys,

I have just downloaded Albion, then I installed it. When I hit .exe of it, it gave me a info(in console) that I have to put CD of the game inside. So I downloaded DosBox and installed it just as it is said in tutorial. When I digged to game file(well it took some time ), the pop up was the same. I know there is a way to make my PC think that CD with information(guess cd is what was included in download, the CD folder with autorun and things in it) is inside and this can be probably made up using DosBox, so my question is: how can I do a fake CD using DosBox(step by step instruction or some link would be very helpful)? I didn't know what words to search too . My sys is xp of course :/. I'd be very if you help me(you've probably noticed that I am not a smartass in matters like it :P)

With kind regards,
galarion
galarion is offline                         Send a private message to galarion
Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 06:19 PM   #2
gorkur
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hofudborgarsvadi, Iceland
Posts: 89
Default

Hmm.. Have you mounted a CDROM drive to DOSBox?

Do it by typing in: mount d d:\ -t cdrom

That might work.
gorkur is offline                         Send a private message to gorkur
Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2006, 10:15 PM   #3
galarion
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks it helped me , though I had to disable sound to make game works(hope it isn't very needed ). :Brain:
galarion is offline                         Send a private message to galarion
Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2006, 11:59 PM   #4
Supermot
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 10
Default

I ran Albion fine without mounting a cd (fake or otherwise) and the sound works perfectly. I just downloaded and unzipped Albion somewhere, opened DOSBox and typed:

mount c c:\albion_path
c:
launch

If the sound doesn't work run the setup.exe file and keep fiddling with the sound settings until one works.
Supermot is offline                         Send a private message to Supermot
Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2006, 01:48 AM   #5
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You can't go wrong with DOSBox if you go the SoundBlaster route.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2006, 03:55 AM   #6
Z-Byte
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry, I'm a complete DOSbox noob with the same "Need CD" problem. Could I get a, er, "walkthrough" of the commands I'm supposed to input?
Z-Byte is offline                         Send a private message to Z-Byte
Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2006, 06:36 PM   #7
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

One command - Search. This question has been posted here umpteen times over.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2006, 01:33 AM   #8
Z-Byte
Newbie

 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 2
Default

Actually, I did a search and only came up with two results for Albion. What keyword should I use?
Z-Byte is offline                         Send a private message to Z-Byte
Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2006, 10:43 AM   #9
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Keyword: Albion
Search where: Troubleshooting, Troubleshooting Archive, Compatibility.
Search posts from: Any date.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Albion Cd Problem Topper Troubleshooting 13 05-01-2016 11:06 PM
Dosbox problem LOV-ED Troubleshooting 0 10-12-2006 11:48 AM
Problem With Dosbox BloodRaevynn Troubleshooting 6 11-01-2006 07:30 PM
Albion Problem GermanPlayer Troubleshooting 7 18-02-2005 08:23 PM
Dosbox Problem Reaper Troubleshooting 12 17-09-2004 02:26 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:27 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.