Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14-07-2005, 04:45 PM   #1
Kreepah
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 103
Default

sound wont work in xp any suggestions
__________________
Newbie guide of DOSBox
Kreepah is offline                         Send a private message to Kreepah
Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2005, 05:19 PM   #2
efthimios
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 957
Default

VDMsound? DOSBox? Civilization III?
efthimios is offline                         Send a private message to efthimios
Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2005, 02:20 AM   #3
Kreepah
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 103
Default

civilization 1 i tried vdms an dosb, they both get into the game but no sound and also its slower than normal.
__________________
Newbie guide of DOSBox
Kreepah is offline                         Send a private message to Kreepah
Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2005, 02:22 AM   #4
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

I don't think Civilization I sport sounds. You would need to run the setup and activate PC speaker...

A lot of people find the sound coming from the PC speaker bloody annoying tough, so you know.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 16-07-2005, 03:35 AM   #5
Kreepah
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 103
Default

yeah, workds with IBM sounds.. extremely rank but, at least its bearable on a low volume and better than no sound .. i guess.
__________________
Newbie guide of DOSBox
Kreepah is offline                         Send a private message to Kreepah
Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 09:39 AM   #6
Flodelarab
Guest
Arrow

Hi all

I am surprised with your problem because it is exactly what happened when i used Civilisation with Windows XP.

But with the dosbox, it can use the false soundblaster and the game runs at a correct speed. Try it and tell us.

Civilisation is the best game (abandonware or not). I couldn't stand not playing it :-)

:bye:
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 09:48 AM   #7
Kreepah
Game freak

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 103
Default

thanks, you legend Flodelarab this is perfect! beautiful sound and normal speed !
i agree this game OWNS.

i wonder why it didnt work before in dosbox? ... oh well
__________________
Newbie guide of DOSBox
Kreepah is offline                         Send a private message to Kreepah
Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2005, 06:37 AM   #8
Omuletzu
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 1,529
Send a message via MSN to Omuletzu Send a message via Yahoo to Omuletzu
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Eagle of Fire@Jul 16 2005, 04:22 AM
I don't think Civilization I sport sounds. You would need to run the setup and activate PC speaker...

A lot of people find the sound coming from the PC speaker bloody annoying tough, so you know.
I think it had support for soundblaster along with a few more soundcards
Omuletzu is offline                         Send a private message to Omuletzu
Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2005, 01:12 AM   #9
kreeper
Guest
Default

hmm now when i use dosbox to try run civ it doesnt work. it gets up to the part where you choose mouse and keyboard. i choose one and then it pauses for a couple seconds then exits automatically.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2005, 03:40 AM   #10
blastradius14
Abandonia Homie

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 690
Default

hmm. are you using dos-box on its own or d-fend?
blastradius14 is offline                         Send a private message to blastradius14
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Civilization Kosta Games Discussion 347 11-07-2017 12:54 AM
Civilization 4 swiss Gaming Zone 7 29-11-2005 04:49 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 12:42 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.