Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-08-2004, 06:25 PM   #1
Kosta
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Kosta's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Ranelagh, Ireland
Posts: 1,577
Default Master of Magic

Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
__________________



Last edited by Luchsen; 22-01-2008 at 01:36 PM.
Kosta is offline                         Send a private message to Kosta
Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 06:29 PM   #2
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

Yeah, now you have that jewel of the game here! Have fun with it, anyone!
Btw, my advise is: choose Myrran-ability and take as race the Night Elves, they produce one magic point per population and their ranged units (magicians, clerics etc.) are more powerful than any of the other races.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2016, 11:22 AM   #3
Turbo Beholder
Newbie

 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeFreddy View Post
Yeah, now you have that jewel of the game here! Have fun with it, anyone!
Btw, my advise is: choose Myrran-ability and take as race the Night Elves, they produce one magic point per population and their ranged units (magicians, clerics etc.) are more powerful than any of the other races.
More of an advantage is that they ALL get a weak ranged attack, even Spearmen.
But trade-offs are too high. No one likes them, so you'll have around lots of occupation forces just to have cities pay taxes. Which raises upkeep. Yes, garrisoned troops need to survive mindblasts and suchlike before you summon reinforcement, so Res +3 is good, but you don't need to make them in your capitol, and there are better - Dwarves (Res +4), Halflings (Res +2 Lucky), Beastmen (Res +1 HP x2), Trolls (Res +3 HP x4).
Another problem is the same as with High elves: very slow growth (-20). The high values per population aren't so hot if there's less of population in the first place. Sure, tiny villages are not so useless... but again, they remain tiny forever.
Half of this mana bonus you can have from Draconians or High Elves for -10 growth, or even from Beastmen with normal growth.
Extra mana from cities also comes with gold bonus or work bonus (via trade goods) using alchemy, especially if you do 1:1. Funny coincidence - Nomads have trade bonus, and Jafar who is clearly supposed to start with them has Alchemy retort.
__________________
And the creature making toothpicks of my five-foot patent wheels.
Turbo Beholder is offline                         Send a private message to Turbo Beholder
Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 07:23 PM   #4
DiamondSoul
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bothwell, Scotland
Posts: 70
Default

Oh Master of Magic is simply the best game in the world, i've been playing it for years!!

You guys might have some trouble running the game smoothly with sound, but it is possible using only VDMSound and some tweaking to the properties, if anyone needs help making it work i'd be glad to be of assistance, i just got it to work on my computer with sound without DosBox a little while ago.
DiamondSoul is offline                         Send a private message to DiamondSoul
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2006, 01:21 AM   #5
Chizm
Guest
Default

I tried with both DosBox and VDMSound and had no luck. This was one of my favorites in college and I'd love to play it again. I think I have my original disks?/CD? around here somewhere. Any help getting it to work would be much appreciated. I could dust off the old P3 laptop I have in the closet if I need to bring out the artillery...Or commandeer the old P1MMX-233 I gave to my mom to not use many years ago. I'm running a high-end system now.

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DiamondSoul @ Aug 23 2004, 07:23 PM) [snapback]9835[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Oh Master of Magic is simply the best game in the world, i've been playing it for years!!

You guys might have some trouble running the game smoothly with sound, but it is possible using only VDMSound and some tweaking to the properties, if anyone needs help making it work i'd be glad to be of assistance, i just got it to work on my computer with sound without DosBox a little while ago.
[/b]
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2006, 06:37 AM   #6
Guest
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Chizm @ Oct 13 2006, 01:21 AM) [snapback]260971[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
I tried with both DosBox and VDMSound and had no luck. This was one of my favorites in college and I'd love to play it again. I think I have my original disks?/CD? around here somewhere. Any help getting it to work would be much appreciated. I could dust off the old P3 laptop I have in the closet if I need to bring out the artillery...Or commandeer the old P1MMX-233 I gave to my mom to not use many years ago. I'm running a high-end system now.[/b]
What do you mean, you had no luck with DosBox? On an high-end system DosBox should work flawlessly, as long as you increase the CPU cycles with CTRL-F12 for the game to run fast enough.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2007, 03:37 AM   #7
Computer Illiterate!
Guest
Default

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(DiamondSoul @ Aug 23 2004, 08:23 PM) [snapback]9835[/snapback]</div>
Quote:
Oh Master of Magic is simply the best game in the world, i've been playing it for years!!

You guys might have some trouble running the game smoothly with sound, but it is possible using only VDMSound and some tweaking to the properties, if anyone needs help making it work i'd be glad to be of assistance, i just got it to work on my computer with sound without DosBox a little while ago.
[/b]
I need help with this....it keeps telling me to Configure....can you help?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 07:44 PM   #8
FreeFreddy
Guest
Default

In DosBox it still runs better than under Windows...
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 08:12 PM   #9
DiamondSoul
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bothwell, Scotland
Posts: 70
Default

Not true, you can make it work with just VDMS and it runs just like the original, sound and everything.
DiamondSoul is offline                         Send a private message to DiamondSoul
Reply With Quote
Old 23-08-2004, 08:23 PM   #10
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

I play every game on this site in DOSbox. I know know... I'm starting to sound like a commercial for the program :P
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Master of Magic won't install earlofwessex Troubleshooting 2 21-04-2008 02:34 PM
Master Of Magic pratputajao Troubleshooting 0 03-07-2007 04:33 AM
Master Of Magic kiotee Troubleshooting 1 08-05-2006 10:49 PM
Master Of Magic TyLord Troubleshooting 1 09-04-2005 07:23 AM
Master Of Magic Multiplayer Help caesar007 Forum Games 0 22-02-2005 10:25 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 03:38 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.