Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26-09-2012, 07:49 PM   #1
Funkmaster5000
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
 
Funkmaster5000's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Weilmunster, Germany
Posts: 136
Default Commodore 64 XA1541 Cable - Experiences?

Hey guys. Does someone know the XA1541 cable series to connect the C64 Floppy to PC? Does someone own it and has some tips/experiences to share?

Thanks in advance!
Funkmaster5000 is offline                         Send a private message to Funkmaster5000
Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
Wicky
the little viking
 
Wicky's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Linz, Austria
Posts: 284
Default

They answer such questions at http://www.lemon64.com/
We are retro-gamers, but we specialize mostly in PC-DOS
__________________
For some people it's Windows, for others it's the longest virus in the world!
Wicky is offline                         Send a private message to Wicky
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2012, 10:54 AM   #3
Funkmaster5000
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
 
Funkmaster5000's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Weilmunster, Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicky View Post
They answer such questions at http://www.lemon64.com/
We are retro-gamers, but we specialize mostly in PC-DOS
Yeah I know that, but I'm active in this community and so I prefer answers from you! And I know for sure, that I'm not the only C64 Fan here

Maybe I'm too optimistic
Funkmaster5000 is offline                         Send a private message to Funkmaster5000
Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2012, 01:47 PM   #4
TheChosen
"I" in the Team
 
TheChosen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 2,236
Default

I never even knew such cables exist. But now I do wanna know too how well do they work.
TheChosen is offline                         Send a private message to TheChosen
Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-2012, 05:23 PM   #5
Tracker
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Tracker's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 758
Default

They've been around for a while I guess, how else could have they ripped the disks and tapes for emulators, if not by such cables?
@TC: You should try implementing other hacks on your C64, like chatting on IRC, playing a video, playing ".mp3" files, etc.
One of my friends claimed he had a C64 which could control a microwave oven.
__________________


Reverend Preacherbot: Wretched sinner unit! The path to Robot Heaven lies here, in the Good Book 3.0.
Bender: Hey. Do I preach at you when you're lying stoned in the gutter? No!
Tracker is offline                         Send a private message to Tracker
Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-2012, 03:31 PM   #6
TheChosen
"I" in the Team
 
TheChosen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland
Posts: 2,236
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracker View Post
One of my friends claimed he had a C64 which could control a microwave oven.
Wow, I could have the 80's future, today!
TheChosen is offline                         Send a private message to TheChosen
Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-2012, 02:27 PM   #7
Tracker
Home Sweet Abandonia
 
Tracker's Avatar




 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hungary
Posts: 758
Default

Just make sure not to play WarGames ever.
__________________


Reverend Preacherbot: Wretched sinner unit! The path to Robot Heaven lies here, in the Good Book 3.0.
Bender: Hey. Do I preach at you when you're lying stoned in the gutter? No!
Tracker is offline                         Send a private message to Tracker
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 12:32 AM   #8
Funkmaster5000
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
 
Funkmaster5000's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Weilmunster, Germany
Posts: 136
Default

Yeah actually there has been an robotic arm that could be controlled via the C64.


Anyway. Which is cool about that cable is, that transferring data works in 2 directions. So you can copy files from (which is good for digitalizing them old floppys) and to the floppy, so you can play them again. I recently tested it, because I bought one and it's very nice, but sloooow. I want to digitalize all my floppies, but there occur read errors here and there, so you can't count on the digitalized versions to work, if you get this message. Which is a shame, because it means, if the floppy breaks, the game is lost.

You can even digitalize the tapes, that contain games. You just need to connect a line out from a tape player to the line in of your computer and run the cassette. If you save it as a .wav file (should be 96 khz, for best results) you can store the games forever. Of course you can easily record the Data back to a normal tape.

Which could be a bit problematic in the future is the lack of tapes or floppies in good condition to transfer back to a C64. I actually prefer the hardware and don't want to depend on an emulator.
Funkmaster5000 is offline                         Send a private message to Funkmaster5000
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recent movie experiences Timpsi Music, Art, Movies 13 09-03-2013 10:51 PM
Claw intro from Dxr2 tv out cable [VIDEO] fooker Blah, blah, blah... 7 21-02-2010 12:55 PM
Duke3d Experiences Sanobone General compatibility fixes 8 22-08-2008 06:19 PM
Problems With Commodore 64... TheChosen Tech Corner 17 25-02-2006 08:31 PM
Ide And Some Other Cable wade 486DX266 LAPTOP Tech Corner 13 08-12-2005 07:32 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 01:50 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.