Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 25-08-2007, 02:52 AM   #1
ianfreddie07
wat
 
ianfreddie07's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland, United States
Posts: 357
Default

Ok, I can't seem to open FireFox even when I reinstalled it 3 times... It must have something to do with a conflict in one program... FireFox might be conflicting with:

1. Window Washer

or

2. McAfee VirusScan

I want to remove them, but there is this guy who keeps saying that there is something missing in Avast!, Kaspersky... I think it was the antispyware. I could just compensate with Spybot, Avast! and COMODO Firewall Pro. Those are my settings in my home PC and FF has not conflicted (heck, I already have addons)

Can someone help me on conflicting problems?
__________________
yes
ianfreddie07 is offline                         Send a private message to ianfreddie07
Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 09:01 AM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

why wont you just try uinstalling and if it werent in the programs, install back?

btw what does it say when you try to run firefox anyways?
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 10:21 AM   #3
arand
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Andorra, Andorra
Posts: 39
Default

What you could do is try running FF in safe mode. You tried that?

firefox.exe -safe-mode

- Arand

arand is offline                         Send a private message to arand
Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 10:40 AM   #4
ianfreddie07
wat
 
ianfreddie07's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland, United States
Posts: 357
Default

Safe Mode... works every time... thanks!
__________________
yes
ianfreddie07 is offline                         Send a private message to ianfreddie07
Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 05:41 PM   #5
arand
Forum hobbit

 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Andorra, Andorra
Posts: 39
Default

And if safe mode works, then it is something in FF which is different from the 'factory deafult' that is (one of) the reason for the unstartability.

Try to disabe all extensions in SafeM and then start it in normal mode, and then (if it starts then) activate them one by one to see which one is the bugger.

- Arand
arand is offline                         Send a private message to arand
Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2007, 05:50 PM   #6
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,561
Default

Yep

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnos...xtension_issues
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox Problem Himmler Tech Corner 17 30-09-2006 02:20 AM
Better Ad Blocker For Firefox HappyGamer Tech Corner 1 28-09-2006 01:05 AM
Firefox Day Bobbin Threadbare Blah, blah, blah... 10 06-08-2006 02:41 PM
Firefox Extension Bobbin Threadbare Tech Corner 18 05-07-2006 01:00 PM
Firefox Puffin Tech Corner 52 09-11-2004 02:09 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 08:26 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.