Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2006, 01:35 AM   #1
OldSkool69
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

Hi there Im having problems running my Police Quest 4
I know how to use DosBox however it will not run it says it cannot be run in Dos mode
here is the problem when i dont try running it in Dosit says "Your Current display driver is not supported by this game. You can install a different driver by selecting the appropriate from windows setup. You may also exit windows and play the game under Dos."

Any suggestions?
OldSkool69 is offline                         Send a private message to OldSkool69
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 02:41 AM   #2
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

Are you sure you are running the right file? If it's a Windows port, there should be a Win and a DOS version.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 02:58 AM   #3
OldSkool69
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

Yes im totally positive all I have in my files is a sierraw.exe bat and other files that i cant read
OldSkool69 is offline                         Send a private message to OldSkool69
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 12:56 PM   #4
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Right-click on the executable. [PROPERTIES]-->[COMPATIBILITY]. Check Windows 95, 640x480 resolution, 256 colors.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 02:54 AM   #5
OldSkool69
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default

New Error
when chester goes to take the pictures a popup comes up saying

waveoutunprepareheader1
An invalid parameter was passed to a system function
OldSkool69 is offline                         Send a private message to OldSkool69
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2006, 01:12 PM   #6
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Try going through that part of the game several times.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2006, 05:42 AM   #7
branden
Guest
Default

i get a cursor to big error win ruin the win version and the dos version places sound but no speeach and i have the cd version btw
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2006, 05:42 PM   #8
Branden
Guest
Default

QUOTE(branden @ Aug 20 2006, 04:42 AM) [snapback]249695[/snapback]
Quote:
i get a cursor to big error win ruin the win version and the dos version places sound but no speeach and i have the cd version btw
[/b]
I run the game in dos box 0.65 and the setup dosnt work i copyed the cd files to my HD
VDM sound wont run iti tryed editing my config files n such nothing works m really stuck
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2010, 01:57 AM   #9
DFW333
Guest
Default

I cant get this program to run with DosBox .74 The game keeps thinking that I need the CD-ROM which is in the drive, I installed from the CD but when it comes to playing the game my CD-ROM keeps reporting that there is no CD in the drive! What the hell?

Why couldnt they just make technology backwards compatible to begin with?
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2010, 10:15 AM   #10
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,276
Default

Have you mounted the CD-Rom using the -t cdrom argument?
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Police Quest Guest_DeathsHead Troubleshooting 3 22-02-2006 08:16 AM
Quest For Glory 4/police Quest 3 Error Clueless Troubleshooting 1 19-08-2005 09:21 PM
Police Quest 3 Guest Troubleshooting 2 02-05-2005 01:22 AM
Bug In Police Quest Iv? Greenbolt Gaming Zone 1 30-01-2005 07:58 PM
Police Quest 4 jkow Troubleshooting 3 06-07-2004 02:30 AM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:28 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.