Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 30-10-2008, 02:49 PM   #1
Playbahnosh
The Peacemaker

Send a message via MSN to Playbahnosh
Default Vanished free space? o.O

I have a strange problem. I was clearing up my unused files and clutter from my compy and I noticed I have a huge loss of free space on my drive C:\

My C: partition is 10 Gb. I highlighted all the files and the contents on the drive only weigh 6 Gb, but I only have 200 megs of free space according to explorer.

I'm not very good at math, but even I know that 10 - 6 != 0.2

Here be photographic evidence (I captioned it for your non-hungarian folks):

Apparently, I lost 4 gigs of free space somehow. Before you say:

- I emptied the recycle bin
- I cleared clutter (temp, internet junk...etc)
- No hidden files, I highlited them all
- I don't use any drivespace programs
- I don't have any third party disc management progs installed

I have Norton System Works however, but I don't use it's disk features, never have. Oh, the Norton Protected Recycle bin is empty too.

I really need that 4 gigs of space. Any ideas?

"Don't fight the bad things in life! Find the good one! They are everywhere! Don't spend your life fighting for goals you can never reach! Live for the moment!"

BEWARE: I'm using the forums as a personal blog!

Last edited by Playbahnosh; 30-10-2008 at 02:52 PM.
Playbahnosh is offline                         Send a private message to Playbahnosh
Old 30-10-2008, 03:10 PM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD

Chkdsk C: /f

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Old 30-10-2008, 04:36 PM   #3
Playbahnosh
The Peacemaker

Thanks, but I tried that already, didn't help.