Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2004, 01:32 AM   #1
Psyclone
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 20
Default

Hi there, sorry for posting yet another please help me topic about Ufo: Enemy Unkown, but in the various ones i looked at nothing seemed to describe my problem. I downloaded the game today and can get it to start up and play but all the graphics are blurred. For instance i can start a new game by randomly clicking the mouse over the screen(though i see roughly 5 evenly spaced out) and manage to get the game to respond, but there simply is no way of actually playing it properly. So please could anyone help? I've tried the compatibility tab in the properties, but little else thanks.
Psyclone is offline                         Send a private message to Psyclone
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 02:03 AM   #2
Psyclone
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 20
Default

I've tried download the version from this site, but can't unzip it. What program do i need?
Psyclone is offline                         Send a private message to Psyclone
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 03:22 AM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

You need WinZip to unzip the archive.

The graphic problem is a common problem with old games played from Windows. Try switching your resolution to 256 colors, it will probably solve the problem. Furthermore, it would be really less bothersome if you would only download DosBOX instead and run the game from there since it's about 98% sure you will run into speed problems anyways, which DosBOX handle well.

If you still don't want to use DosBOX you will need VDMSound to hear the sound.

You can find all those programs easily with a simple search in your prefered web searcher. I personnaly use Yahoo since an eternity.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2004, 05:05 AM   #4
Psyclone
Newbie

 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: ,
Posts: 20
Cool

Thanks for the help i have dosbox now.
Psyclone is offline                         Send a private message to Psyclone
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 07:53 PM   #5
Guest
Guest
Default

Shame the game won't run in dosbox. It refuses to.
                       
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 07:55 PM   #6
JoM
Forum hobbit
 
JoM's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kingston upon Thames, England
Posts: 28
Send a message via ICQ to JoM
Default

I also get this problem, something to do with "The game wasn't designed to run in MS-DOS mode".
__________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
are belong to you
JoM is offline                         Send a private message to JoM
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 08:11 PM   #7
Tom Henrik
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Orlando, United States
Posts: 4,787
Send a message via AIM to Tom Henrik Send a message via MSN to Tom Henrik
Default

If you downloaded the game from this site, it will have to .exe files.... one will have a blue icon and one will have a yellow icon. One is for DOS and the other is for WINDOWS. I think the blue one is for Windows.
__________________
ViGERP AKA what I have been working on these last couple of years...
Tom Henrik is offline                         Send a private message to Tom Henrik
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2004, 10:08 PM   #8
Havell
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norwich, England
Posts: 1,325
Default

Usually the blue icon will not work or is full of errors, I have never had problems when using the yellow icon so I use that all of the time.
Havell is offline                         Send a private message to Havell
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2004, 07:09 AM   #9
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

If you want to use DosBOX to run Xcom, then you need the MSDos version. The newer "updated for Windows" version will never work under a DOS environement.

Also, the newer version has very choppy sound (or so I heard, I've found and d/l the original version )
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2004, 03:38 PM   #10
JoM
Forum hobbit
 
JoM's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Kingston upon Thames, England
Posts: 28
Send a message via ICQ to JoM
Default

Care to link us to the original version? Or is that the one hosted on the site?
__________________
Roses are #FF0000
Violets are #0000FF
All my base
are belong to you
JoM is offline                         Send a private message to JoM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help With Ufo:enemy Unknown Plato89 Troubleshooting 7 10-04-2007 10:03 AM
X-com 1/ Ufo: Enemy Unknown Giga Troubleshooting 18 24-03-2007 12:18 AM
Ufo Enemy Unknown Hopkins Troubleshooting 6 22-09-2005 09:57 PM
Can't Run Ufo: Enemy Unknown Niall Cosgrach Troubleshooting 4 19-09-2005 12:28 AM
UFO - Enemy Unknown JoM General compatibility fixes 41 14-12-2004 03:33 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:33 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.