Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20-02-2009, 01:40 AM   #1
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default Entomorph - Plague of the Darkfall

Several days ago Ermuli generously provided the game to the ISO Cellar, and so I downloaded the files and set out to try to finish what I could not about four years ago. However, I encounter problem playing it.

It is a Windows 95/ Windows 3.1 game, so trying to play it on the latest DOSBox does not work (DOSBox says it is a WinNT game). VDMSound does not work either.

I do not have access to Windows 95, Windows 3.1, and also no longer have access to Windows 98 and/or Windows 2000, so that leaves me with Windows XP only. No Vi$ta obviously

Strange thing is that I was able to play the game (albeit not finished it) four years ago on Windows XP, but I cannot seem to play it now. Of course it was on a different laptop than I have now. I already set the compatibility mode to Win 95, color to 256, but that does not solve the problem. I tried to google it, and this person here seems to experience the same thing. That is the error message "Not enough memory to start game".

My laptop is Asus A6J Intel Centrino Duo T2300 1.66GHz , 15.4"WXGA with 256MB VGA RAM of ATI Mobility X1600, 80GB HDD, and 512MB Memory, running Windows XP Home Edition SP2.

I have not tried to play it under Linux with Wine

Help, guys? Thanks in advance.
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Old 20-02-2009, 03:59 AM   #2
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

have you tried right clicking it and looking on this tab?


(sorry if this is mentioned in the link you posted, i'm getting timed out on that webpage)

also, you can google around for a copy of win 3.1 and install it in dosbox
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 20-02-2009, 05:11 AM   #3
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default

The link I posted is basically this:
Quote:
Has anyone gotten Entomorph to successfully run on a modern computer?

I have the original CD, which claims to be a win3.1/win95 combo CD. I
install. I use the autoplay function and choose to run the game.

First I get a warning that I should adjust me screen resolution to
256/8-bit colour. I click YES to continue anyway.

Second I get a "Please insert game CD-ROM" message - the game CD IS in
the CD-rom from which it was installed - clicking OK does nothing. I
click cancel.

Third I get a "Not enough memory to start game" error message and the
program quits.

I'm running Windows 98 SE, which is somewhat limited in its ability to
control memory settings for windows-compiled/Windows 95 programs. I
have a P4 with 768 MB of RAM.

If you've got any suggestions for how to run this game without
dual-booting or trying to ressurect a pentium computer, please drop me
an email.
Funny, it was working okay this morning, now the page also times out for me.

As for setting the memory, I do not think I have the Memory Tab, Font Tab, Screen Tab, etc. If I remember correctly (I am at work now, so I cannot check, since at work we only use Linux), I only have General, Version, Compatibility and Security Tab. Similar to the picture here.

How do I enable the rest of the tabs? Creating shortcut (again if I remember correctly) does not enable those. I seem to remember something, though. Is it a .pif file or something like that? (I do not remember how to create a .pif file either).

As for setting up Win 3.1 under DOSBox, the thought did cross my mind, but so did the thought of hunting down all the necessary drivers
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Old 20-02-2009, 06:15 AM   #4
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

W3.x in dosbox:
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405
You'll find all the drivers there.
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Old 20-02-2009, 12:33 PM   #5
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

rabadi if you're looking for the memory tab, try creating a shortcut of the application in the same dir and check properties of that one
__________________

Last edited by _r.u.s.s.; 20-02-2009 at 12:35 PM.
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 20-02-2009, 12:53 PM   #6
Data
retired
 
Data's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Jan Mayen, Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Posts: 2,167
Default

isn't that tab you posted for DOS games only ?
I don't know if a windows game uses XMS and EMS and such.
__________________
Flowing with the stream of life
Data is offline                         Send a private message to Data
Old 20-02-2009, 01:01 PM   #7
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 21-02-2009, 12:54 AM   #8
rabadi
New(bie) Kid on the Linux Users' Block
 
rabadi's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Irving, United States
Posts: 499
Default

Data is correct, _r.u.s.s. After googling for some time, I learned that it is for DOS executables only, hence why those tabs are not visible for Entomorph, which is a Windows game.

@ dosraider: thanks for the link

EDIT: Any other possible solutions to play this game on Win XP before I get down and dirty with the DOSBox and Win 31 route which may take some time?

Last edited by rabadi; 21-02-2009 at 01:03 AM.
rabadi is offline                         Send a private message to rabadi
Old 21-02-2009, 01:54 AM   #9
_r.u.s.s.
I'm not Russ
but an ex-alektorophobic
 
_r.u.s.s.'s Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nitra, Slovakia
Posts: 6,533
Default

virtual machine?=S

but dosbox+ win 3.1 is a good choise
__________________
_r.u.s.s. is offline                         Send a private message to _r.u.s.s.
Old 10-01-2010, 11:16 PM   #10
kukuruku
Lurker

 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Default solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by _r.u.s.s. View Post
virtual machine?=S

but dosbox+ win 3.1 is a good choise
Probably a bit late, but for anybody having this problem. If you don't want to use virtual machine:

1. Download free RAM memory allocator from here http://www.xteq.com/downloads/ (it's Xteq RAM Alloc)
2. Allocate lots of memory, I've read 2000MB for Entomorph, tried, works for me (got 3 GB of RAM).
3. Don't worry about "Out of memory" message.
4. Launch Entomorph, it won't display the out of memory error again.

You can always free the memory when you finish Entomorph. Probably one of the symptoms of older games, they didn't count on with such huge memories/disks/speeds so it acts weird on modern machines :P Memory problems also explain the randomness of that error.

Last edited by kukuruku; 10-01-2010 at 11:17 PM. Reason: point 4 added
kukuruku is offline                         Send a private message to kukuruku
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Entomorph - Plague of the Darkfall Paco E 6 30-05-2011 06:53 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 09:38 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.