Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18-08-2008, 09:37 AM   #321
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

Satan has posessed your computer. You have to delete all your porn and then ask a priest to perform an exorcism.

... No, not really. But how the hell am I (or anyone else) supposed to figure out what's going wrong when your description does not tell us anything whatsoever? We're not psychic detectives here.

Please tell us:
1. Which version of Windows you're using
2. How (in exact steps) did you attempt to run the game.
3. What exactly happened when you did what you did. Any error messages MUST be posted verbatim - ie precisely as they appear on your PC.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards

Last edited by The Fifth Horseman; 18-08-2008 at 09:40 AM.
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-2008, 11:57 PM   #322
csufr
Newbie

 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: ,
Posts: 3
Default Runin Colonization

I am on a XP plateform. I unziped all 7 zipped files and placed all files in a folder and ran the colonization .exe file. the file said unable to locate wing.dll file and another warning of can't locate colonization.exe file.

That's about it.
csufr is offline                         Send a private message to csufr
Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2008, 12:38 PM   #323
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,264
Default

OK, that explains a few things. The WinG API was a very old thing... sort of a precursor to DirectX, actually. Microsoft dropped official support for it since Windows 98SE, but you can install it separately.

Go here: http://community.the-underdogs.info/pub/tools/other/
Download "wing-setup". Unpack it, run MSSetup.exe... and that's it. You're ready to run any games that use WinG on your XP machine no problem.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2008, 12:02 PM   #324
zorrobomber
Newbie

 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 6
Default

Actually, Red Alert is free to copy as RA3 is coming, so we can only hope, SM follows this example.
zorrobomber is offline                         Send a private message to zorrobomber
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 01:01 PM   #325
asingh
Lurker

 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kilmainham, Ireland
Posts: 1
Default

I found three fountain of youths in one of my games! Best thing ever.. dont know if it was a glitch or a bug, but I had around 30 units waiting for me at the docks! Has this happened to anyone else?
asingh is offline                         Send a private message to asingh
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 04:05 PM   #326
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,516
Default

It's not a bug, fountais of youth aren't unique, there are quite a bunch in every game. Yes it happened to me many times.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 10:54 PM   #327
Fubb
GreatCanadianMan
 
Fubb's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Swan River, Canada
Posts: 842
Default

Fubb wishes Colonization was free

BTW @ Fifth: Nice new Avatar
Fubb is offline                         Send a private message to Fubb
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 09:04 PM   #328
Japo
Autonomous human
 
Japo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ,
Posts: 4,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubb View Post
Fubb wishes Colonization was free
Well you have Freecol.
__________________
Life starts every day anew. Prospects not so good...
Japo is offline                         Send a private message to Japo
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 10:12 PM   #329
Fubb
GreatCanadianMan
 
Fubb's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Swan River, Canada
Posts: 842
Default

Yes i know, I have it on mjy pc.

The one cool thing about Freecol is that theres so man new nations

But having the original would be nice.

Only prob wit freeCol are;

I wish it used more graphics like colonization, and that you could have hotseat games...

(or CAN you...?)
Fubb is offline                         Send a private message to Fubb
Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2009, 07:34 PM   #330
irwanwr
Lurker

 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Medan, Indonesia
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kosta View Post
Feel free to comment and discuss this game here. Also, if you have any useful tips or tricks don't hesitate to share them with the others! Thanks!

Review and Download (if available)
How can we download it and where, please?
irwanwr is offline                         Send a private message to irwanwr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colonization 6rangeface Troubleshooting 8 12-03-2006 02:18 AM
Colonization LotharGR Troubleshooting 2 31-05-2005 02:28 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 06:02 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.