Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17-11-2005, 04:16 AM   #1
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Arrow

With my old 486 laptop running windows 95, i have an IDE hard drive running on it.
When i take it out and i boot it up, of course it sais insert boot cd.
but if i put an IDE cd-rom in place of the hdd and boot off a dos or win 95 boot, can i put in a old dos cd-rom and play it if it has no install require :blink: :help: ment?
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 06:12 AM   #2
Reup
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10
 
Reup's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 1,508
Default

1. You err... take the hard drive out of your laptop (why on earth???).
2. You boot from CD-ROM/Bootdisk
3. After boot you remove the CD-rom and put in another one and play a game of it
4. It works.
5. You're ... surprised?

This is the way it has always worked. In the old days when PC's didn't have harddrive's you'd boot from a floppy containing the OS. AFter boot this would reside in memory and you swapped the disks to start your program/game.
Reup is offline                         Send a private message to Reup
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 08:33 AM   #3
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Post

yeah i knew dat.
I have the windows 95 cd-rom and boot disk, and can get all versions of boot disks at www.bootdisk.com
So when you boot from the Windows 95 cd-rom is it like the real one or the ms-dos 1? :blink:
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2005, 09:05 AM   #4
efthimios
Home Sweet Abandonia

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 957
Default

I don't even remember any more, I rarely used windows 95 (still prefered DOS till windows 98), but I am sure that it was not DOS 1. If I remember correctly it was DOS 6.11
efthimios is offline                         Send a private message to efthimios
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 05:48 AM   #5
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Default

thanks i just didnt know you could boot win 95 from a cd
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 05:50 AM   #6
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Reup@Nov 17 2005, 07:12 AM
1. You err...
5. You're ... surprised?

and im not bloody stupid <<u
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 06:23 AM   #7
A. J. Raffles
10 GOSUB Abandonia
20 GOTO 10

 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Shella, Kenya
Posts: 2,570
Default

However, you do have a slightly irritating habit of double-posting... And Reup just misunderstood you there. Your initial post wasn't exactly lucid, you see.
A. J. Raffles is offline                         Send a private message to A. J. Raffles
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 07:44 AM   #8
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Default

well im not the one who always shuts down peoples threads you know
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 07:59 AM   #9
Nikson
Game Wizzard

 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cairns, Australia
Posts: 260
Default

But you are the one who makes topics that shouldn't be there.
Nikson is offline                         Send a private message to Nikson
Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2005, 08:02 AM   #10
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Abandonia nerd

 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: ,
Posts: 60
Send a message via MSN to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Default

well troubleshooting and compatibility are basicly the same thing
wade 486DX266 LAPTOP is offline                         Send a private message to wade 486DX266 LAPTOP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Idea JJXB Blah, blah, blah... 1 07-09-2008 09:42 PM
An Idea a1s Gaming Zone 8 29-05-2005 10:18 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 07:47 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.