Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27-04-2008, 11:53 PM   #11
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

I have two last suggestions for you.

First, try copying your ascend folder to a new folder solely for the sake of mounting your cd drive.

Second, you might consider simply using VDMSound instead of trying to run Ascend in DOSBox. I personnaly never ran Ascendancy in DOSBox, VDMSound works way fine.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Old 28-04-2008, 12:41 AM   #12
weavka32
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Is VDMSound for the music or for the game? When I install the game I always select no sound. I did try to make a folder just for Ascendacy. This is frustrating becuase I had it working last year but I lost the written mounting codes and my computer crashed so I lost the saved copy of the written mounting code. It used to only take two or three lines of codes to get it to start.
weavka32 is offline                         Send a private message to weavka32
Old 28-04-2008, 12:51 AM   #13
weavka32
Newbie

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 8
Default

I got it working, all I had to do was mount my cdrom drive as e e:\ -t cdrom not d or c e:\ -t cdrom
weavka32 is offline                         Send a private message to weavka32
Old 28-04-2008, 01:45 AM   #14
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire
 
Eagle of Fire's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Valleyfield, Canada
Posts: 4,892
Default

VDMSound is a program which emulate the Soundblaster setting, much like DOSBox does for sound. The reason why most DOS games don't work right away is that the sound input is not compatible with the default Windows operating system. And that, even if you don't use the sound at all.

VDMSound fix that. But it won't fix the speed problems and whatnot, which is why you still keep DOSBox around.
__________________
I'm on a hot streak... Literally.
Proud member of The Abandoned since 2005.
Eagle of Fire is offline                         Send a private message to Eagle of Fire
Closed Thread


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox and Ascendancy maniclurker Troubleshooting 2 19-02-2009 07:29 PM
I Would Like To Play Some Games But I A: Suck At Dosbox And B: Have No Clue How To Make A Boot Disk For Win Xp. bizarrejpeg Troubleshooting 14 16-10-2006 11:08 AM
How Do I Play These Games Using Dosbox charyou Troubleshooting 18 07-09-2006 03:36 AM
Dosbox The Easy Way To Play mouse31e Troubleshooting 63 03-06-2005 09:22 PM
DOSBox, The easy way to play BUFFY Troubleshooting Archive 1 24-01-2005 09:16 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 11:44 PM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.