Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Troubleshooting
Memberlist Forum Rules Today's Posts
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 28-01-2006, 09:09 PM   #1
Dave

Im quite new to this, I've been going through the DosBox tutorial here. I've downloaded the game. I've extracted it (hopefully i did this right) extracted every last file (there were about 100 or so) into my little CDrive file that I made. I think i'm supposed to find a file called setup/configuration but this still eludes me :blink: .

I've got this far

C:\CIV>CIV1>dir

CIV EXE 304,512 bytes

Dos was in use when i was a little tike, I remeber EXE signifying what i was to type for EXcitment in my mind. I'm pretty sure the game is there, I just havn't set it up "to make it go" :help: :blink:

Is this configuration file really there? is it known by any other name? when i find it what do i do with it? (cuz i wana beat the living tar outa it :ranting: )

and finnaly am I right that this file is the problem?

if i'm not providing enough info ask away

thx in advance

Old 28-01-2006, 09:46 PM   #2
Master MC
Hero Gamer

You actually don't need DosBOX to run Civ, it works fine on Windows, if you choose IBM sounds (works for me). (I believe the options are 1-2-1.)
Master MC is offline                         Send a private message to Master MC
Old 28-01-2006, 09:47 PM   #3
Eagle of Fire
Friendly Fire

.exe stands for "executable".

You are right assuming that you need to run civ.exe to run the game. It seem to run quite fine on my computer, assuming I choose the Pc Speaker option for sound. If I'd want to run the SoundBlaster setting then I would need to run DOSBox. Since the game ask for your preferences at startup you don't need to run the installation file.