Go Back   Forums > Abandonia.com > Games Discussion
Memberlist Forum Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Search Forums:
Click here to use Advanced Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-09-2009, 07:37 PM   #21
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frodo View Post
At least my way works. So there's no need for your complaining.
Want to see you install an original game from CD or floppy, happy drag&drop.......
__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 07:37 PM   #22
TotalAnarchy
Surviving the Dark Age
 
TotalAnarchy's Avatar



 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chisinau, Moldova, Republic of
Posts: 3,147
Default

Oi, I've already replaaced the archive with one that has 8 character folder name and the inf file separately. You just have to unarchive them in the same directory, the way you always do with the rest of the games.
TotalAnarchy is offline                         Send a private message to TotalAnarchy
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 07:45 PM   #23
Frodo
One ring to rule them all...
 
Frodo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 1,490
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dosraider View Post
Want to see you install an original game from CD or floppy, happy drag&drop.......
Okay, I'm sorry I mentioned drag & drop, even though it works.
I'm sorry I uploaded the game
I'm sorry I named the game folder, 'game'
I'm sorry I bothered to make review, walkthrough & maps
Happy now?
__________________
Please click on the baby dragon eggs to help them grow -














Frodo is offline                         Send a private message to Frodo
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 08:13 PM   #24
dosraider
Dismembered.
 
dosraider's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dixmuide, Belgium
Posts: 2,767
Default

My excuses, Frodo, wasn't meant as insult.

It's just that this drag&drop method only work in some cases, far from all.

We're okay ?

__________________

Not a member of The Victorious People's Shoutbox Liberation Army.
Not a member of the GAG Guerrilla. Don't get A Grip!
FOR RENT
*Advertising space*
dosraider is offline                         Send a private message to dosraider
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 08:18 PM   #25
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD
 
The Fifth Horseman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Opole, Poland
Posts: 14,268
Default

*sigh*
Frodo, you're taking it far too personally.
Not to say certain people aren't overreacting either.

The recommended means of running the games is through DOSBox' own interface, from a subdirectory under the emulator's virtual C drive, and that is what the archives should be aiming for.
Just a matter of keeping a uniform standard across the game archives placed on the site.
__________________

"God. Can't you people see I'm trying to commit a crime against science and nature here?"
-- Reed Richards
The Fifth Horseman is offline                         Send a private message to The Fifth Horseman
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 09:48 PM   #26
ay2516
Newbie

 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Madison Heights, United States
Posts: 7
Default Yeah still not going

Sorry to break up the Emo party...

But the Game's still not running even with the updated archive. Did I miss something? I have the new file unzipped unto a folder in my Dosprog subdirectory where all the other games are and I open it up and open paratime and type start and the same error must install crap. Any ideas?

Thanks
ay2516 is offline                         Send a private message to ay2516
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 10:15 PM   #27
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Where has my post gone?

Again:
You have to mount the directory as C.

In other words:
The PARATIME.INF has to be in your virtual C.

So:
You can also copy the PARATIME.INF to your Dosprog subdirectory.
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 10:34 PM   #28
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zirkoni View Post
"paradox.exe" refers to a file called "paratime.inf". It expects to find it from the root c:. If you edit the "paradox.exe" the game should work without having to mount the game folder as c:.
So,
change the "c" at offset $63F to "a" (since the "start.bat" mounts the folder as a: ).
I changed it to ..\paratime.inf and try to upload it tomorrow.
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 02:21 AM   #29
RonStock
Newbie


 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Riverview, United States
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zirkoni View Post
The game seems to work only if you mount the game directory as your virtual drive.
mount c "x:\path\time paradox directory"

YEP THIS WORKS.. THANKS FOR INPUT AND FIX!!!
RonStock is offline                         Send a private message to RonStock
Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2009, 01:23 PM   #30
Luchsen
Lurking Forever
 
Luchsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bad Konig, Germany
Posts: 3,565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luchsen View Post
I changed it to ..\paratime.inf and try to upload it tomorrow.
Done.
__________________
Luchsen is offline                         Send a private message to Luchsen
Reply With Quote
Reply


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kronolog - The Nazi Paradox Reup Games Discussion 32 08-09-2009 03:27 AM
Time Paradox Paco T 1 07-07-2009 04:18 PM

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump
 


The current time is 10:18 AM (GMT)

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.