Go Back   Forums > Community Chatterbox > Tech Corner
Memberlist Forum Rules Today's Posts
Click here to use Advanced Search

Old 22-10-2011, 07:18 AM   #1
Halindir
Home Sweet Abandonia

Default Semi-random freezes

Halindir's new computer, its magnificent in every way. Except for the XFX GeForce GT520 2gb graphics card I bought - because I have no knowledge in computer hardware.
And the dreaded game freezes.

No matter what setting I set my games to, they freeze, with not option to tab out, or ctrl+alt+del. I have to reboot, every time it happens.

They do seem to run smoothly at mid/high settings though, until they freeze

When the freeze occurs the game music stops, and the ambient sounds continue. Until i press alt+tab or ctrl+alt+del - which doesn't do anything.
If I wait long enough, the computer will reboot, after freezing.

My specs (of which i know of)
ASUS MZN-E SLI
AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual Core 6000+
4GB RAM
XFX GeForce GT520 2GB

The freezes happen wether the computer is completely cool, or slightly warm (like the forehead when you've got the olde common cold)
All fans are spinning
And no dust

I tried taking all the RAM-sticks out, and using only one at a time. The pc booted normaly, on all of them

Im pretty desperate here. And I don't really want to fiddle with the hardware except if its really necessary - testing the RAM felt like handling plutonium :C

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Halindir; 22-10-2011 at 07:22 AM.
Halindir is offline                         Send a private message to Halindir
Old 22-10-2011, 09:07 AM   #2
The Fifth Horseman
FUTURE SCIENCE BASTARD

Quote:
I tried taking all the RAM-sticks out, and using only one at a time. The pc booted normaly, on all of them
That the PC boots does not confirm that the RAM modules are 100%. Get Ultimate Boot CD or Hirens' Boot CD, boot your machine with it and run Memtest to test your RAM properly.

Quote: